I think I may have to stop driving

Standard

… if gas prices continue to go up any further. Completely off-topic but I don’t care.

The prices have been steadily rising for quite awhile now, since last summer when Katrina hit. And although we aren’t back up to those costs YET! we are on our way.

As of yesterday afternoon we are now paying 1.17 per litre (translated that’s 4.42/gal) Canadian dollars. My little Sunfire (okay so its not so little but its classifed as small car) is costing me over $50 to fill it up – compared to the 37 of two years ago.

According the the ‘gas consultant experts’ (do people go to college for that degree?) its going to reach 1.19 and probably stay there or higher for the summer.

So what about the rest of you? What are you paying?

5 responses »

  1. Wow – that’s WAY more than what we’re paying.

    Right now, regular unleaded gas is $2.79 per gallon. It takes me about $70 to fill up. The bad news is my TANK only gets about 14 miles per gallon. For comparison’s sake, my daughter’s car gets about 28 – literally double.

  2. To fill up our truck it costs RH about $135 at this current price. Needless to say he fills it once it hits 3/4 of a tank. I think he would get about the same milage as you are.

  3. I refused to get gas the other day when it was $1.06 a litre. *snort* If I knew then what it was going to be today…. I was talking to the guy in the gas station (got other stuff) and he told me that without taxes it would have be 69 cents a litre. I get so angry at the Canadian people sometimes for just accepting things. I don’t know what we can do, but the compancency when they interview drivers on the high prices just astounds me. And I heard on the news tonight that Harper has not intention of lowering the tax – even though he called for that when he was in opposition. Politicians are such bastards!!!

  4. It would be .69? I think the average tax is around 38% of the total cost of the gas. I know its awful here because we pay 15% federal tax on TOP of the other provincial taxes. So taxes on taxes is what they are getting from us.

    Kristie – I did the exact same thing on Monday! I was going to get gas at 1.13 and said nah, I’ll wait and see if it goes down again. Now its up to 1.17.

Leave a Reply

