When the heroine takes over …

Standard

Bloghopping this morning as usual … I’m sure my boss would love to know I spend the first hour of work every day checking out blogs and personal email … and I stumbled across Lyvvie‘s Smart Bitches Day rant about the fact that are so few true alpha heroines in romance novels.

I like alpha heroines to a point, I don’t want them to take over the book with their aggresiveness but I don’t want them to be too stupid to live either. And I always enjoy a few odd stories where the heroine is the one to go crashing in to save the hero from the bad guy. And watching the hero swallow that.

And this all in turn had me trying to remember some serious alpha heroines … to which I haven’t really been able to come up with many.


Lori Foster’s Unexpected – Ray Vereker is a beautiful female mercenary who has been hired to get the hero’s brother from Central America.


Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Sins of the Night features Dangereuse – the first story of a female Dark-Hunter.

MJD’s Betsy is a kick-ass always heroine but yet she still needs help being bailed out of trouble more often than not. And the same with Katie Mac’s Aisling Grey I find. Oh but, Drake my dear, what a man to bail you out. Alot of Katie Mac’s heroines I find are very independant, not so much kick ass alpha but they always like to be in charge and usually come up with a solution for everyone’s problems.

Woman in Charge in a time when they normally wouldn’t have been:

Bronwyn from Deveraux’s Highland Velvet

Jade … the pirate pagan from Julie Garwood’s Guardian Angel.

And that’s it … that’s about all I’ve come up with.

4 responses »

  1. I love Eve from JD Robb’s In Death books. She is fab!

    Funnily enough, I’ve been reading Cindy Gerard’s Bodyguard series, and although I really liked the stories, I was a bit pissed off at their sister’s story. She was supposed to be this kick-ass broad, but Gerard copped out, and made her the victim, and to make things worse, the hero was a cop too! Damn it!

  2. I’ve heard such great things about the In Death series but for some reason I’ve never been able to get into them.

  3. How much of the series have you read, Valeen, because it took me about half of the first book before I was hooked. Now, I’m obsessed. Eve is the PERFECT alpha heroine, IMO.

    As for the others you listed, I haven’t read some of them, but Bronwyn just flat out irritated me. Jade was pretty good, I thought, but she bugged me a bit, too. Of course, after it was revealed that she was just “playing” dumb the entire book, I was ok with her.

  4. I’ve heard that twice … it takes the first half of the book and of course I wasn’t able to get through the first five chapters. Maybe I’ll have to give it another try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

