Happy Belated Memorial Day

Standard

Monday was Memorial Day here in the states. Most people only know that most people will get the day off. The real reason we celebrate Memorial Day is to commemorate U.S. men and women who have died in military service to their country.

My day was spent with my dad. My dad lives over 13 hours and almost 900 miles away so it was great to be able to spend it with him. My step-mom and my sisters spent the whole weekend with us as well. We had a big cook-out on Saturday and Sunday we got up and shot handguns before the guys rode Harleys. Yes, it sounds very redneck which is really funny because we (especially me) aren’t redneck.

I love shooting my handgun though. My daughter came with us and shot for the first time and she liked it too. She was shooting some revolver that looked like a cowboy’s gun. I was shooting my .357 Magnum. The Harley’s were both my sisters boyfriend’s and I was glad to see them go. Too loud and obnoxious for my taste.

We had a little too much to drink over the weekend (not me but definitely my hubby – whew!), we ate and ate and then ate some more (try a 2.5 inch steak) and we talked and laughed a lot. It was the first time I had seen my dad in 2 years but hopefully it won’t be that long before the next time.

So, how did you spend your weekend?

4 responses »

  1. That sounds like great fun. I love shooting AND Harley’s, but I know it’s not for everyone.

    I just relaxed for the most part. I called my grandfather and some of my other family members and went to a BBQ on Sunday, but mostly I just relaxed, unpacked and read. It was a wonderful way to spend the weekend.

  2. Sounds like you had a great time! =)

    I did a lot of nothing but a lot of stuff too…mostly work around the house and hanging out with the family!

    Happy Belated Memorial Day!

  3. ::whine:: It wasn’t a long weekend for us here.

    Friday night we went to the semi-final game for the Memorial Cup (basically the Stanley Cup for the hockey level under the NHL). Saturday I did nothing but read. And Sunday we planted the garden and did a shitload of outdoor stuff trying to catch up on it.

    Now I’m trying to devour the first season of Las Vegas I rented on DVD. I made the mistake of catching the season finale that was on a couple weeks ago and just had to know what was going on.

Leave a Reply

