Reading/discussing a classic romance novel

Standard

Valeen and I were chatting and decided we’d like to read/review/discuss a classic romance novel. We’ve been tossing different authors and titles back and forth and are a little confuzzled as to which one we should start with (you guys know Valeen can’t make a decision). So, here are the ones we’ve been discussing:

Julie Garwood’s The Bride:
Alec Kincaid … Valeen thinks it was her first romance book but can’t remember exactly.

Jude Deveraux’s Velvet series (Velvet Promise, Highland Velvet, Velvet Song, and Velvet Angel): are they kinda overdone though?

Johanna Lindsey’s first Mallory story:
Valeen says “IT IS SO GOOD” but she just read that this March and thinks it’s too soon for a reread.

Nora Roberts has LOADS of old 80’s Silhouettes but we’ve never read any of them. From what we can tell her earliest Bantam book is Hot Ice or Sacred Sins.

And Jennifer suggests Victoria Holt’s On the Night of the Seventh Moon, released in 1972.

Opinions? Other authors and titles you’d like to suggest?

13 responses »

  1. Fiona is actually the one who suggested to me to Remember the Classics.

    I was staring at my bookshelves the other day thinking what in the hell am I ever really going to do with all these books? I don’t have time to reread them but all 500-600 of them are keepers. There are so many older good ones I want to visit but don’t have time.

  2. well as far as classic romances go Loretta Chase’s “Lord of Scoundrels”, Anne Stuart’s “A Rose at Midnight” or “To Love a Dark Lord”, or even Mary Jo Putney’s “The Rake and the Reformer” are it. they always manage to make it to the Top lists of romances ever written. can’t go wrong with any of them. 🙂

  3. Whenever I think of classics, I always think about Nora Roberts McGregor series. Loved them, I think I’ve still got For The Love of Lilah, and Against The Odds (I think this was the title) in my collection.

  4. They don’t have to be historicals.

    I don’t think I’ve read NR’s MacGregors. Maybe one, was there one called Selina or something?

  5. Yeah for the classics!

    Garwood is a good choice…

    Deveraux could probably wait, they do get a lot of attention still.

    The first Malory (or ANY) would be great, but pick something Valeen can read too!

    I’m up for a Roberts, but I think the Holt would be interesting! But could we find it?

    …Fiona!

  6. Oh Karen I really enjoyed the MacGregor series, who’s your favorite hero in the family?

    I am all about discussing anything Garwood, love her historicals! I also love the Malory’s, it was one of my very first series that I ever read so I’m very partial to this series.

  7. I’m saying Julie Garwood. She was the first romance author I ever read.

    Fiona – your “pushing the comment out” was pretty funny. LOL

  8. Hey Ames…it worked!

    I went to the UBS yesterday, no luck with the Holt (I picked up a different one but not Seventh Moon) AND I found two of Nora Robert’s OOP McGregor series…

    🙂

    Fi

  9. Garwood was my first romance author, too, but I’m sort of Garwooded out at the moment. *sigh*

    I’ve read the Velvet series by JD, and though I’m probably the only one, didn’t care for them much. They were OK, but not GREAT. That’s just MO, of course.

    I haven’t read the others, though I’d be willing. I think I have the entire Mallory series on my TBR shelf. So I’d be reading it this month anyway.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

