The Raider by Jude Deveraux

Standard

I read this book in one day. It’s not a very long book so that’s not any great feat but, the fact that I stayed up till after midnight on a work night is a big deal.

I ADORED this book. This kind of novel is the reason I started reading romance in the first place. I know a lot of people aren’t fond of Jude’s recent works (myself included) but her older stuff is really wonderful and this book is no exception.

First we have the character “the Raider”. He is a Zoro-esque hero who is trying to save the day (and the entire town) from the abuse and criminal acts of the English soldiers set on the cusp of the Revolutionary war. However, during the day, our hero has to dress as a fat, lazy, peacock so as not to be detected. I loved that the dashing “Raider” had all the characteristics that can make a girl’s heart flutter but we get to see the considerate and loving side of Alex through the fat fop. He could be emotional and let his feelings show and that was refreshing.

I say, this should be a must read for all romance genre fans. It’s a historical, there is sex but the scenes are about 3 sentences long so you don’t get many details, there’s adventure and danger and secrets and wonderful things happen. I give it 5 of 5 stars!

One response »

  1. I really enjoyed this book, too. My biggest issue with JD is that her endings always fall flat for me. It started with Temptation and just seemed to go on from there. *sigh* But her older stuff is much better.

Leave a Reply

