Covers

Standard

There is a cover contest up at Ancient City Romance Authors, voting ends July 15. Basically the one word that came to mind when I took a look through was SERIOUSLY!? Some are good but others …. seriously??

So in light of this, I’m going through to find some of my most favourite covers. Mostly they are newer covers because those are the ones that are fresh in my mind.

Lynn ViehlIf Angels Burn
This one looks better in person for some reason, I like how the blue yes really stands out on the rest of the black/white photo.

Alison Kent - Deep Breath
a
Alison Kent
Deep Breath
I think I have this image as a brush in my collection, and I absolutely love it.
a
a
a
a
a

My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys

Lorraine Heath, Georgina Gentry, Teresa Bodwell
My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys
I’m really excited to read this one, although I’ve yet to see it somewhere I can buy it. Wonder if it will ever come out mass market?

a

a

a

a

The Cowboy Vonna Harper, PJ Mellor, Nelissa Donovan, Nikki Alton
The Cowboy

I haven’t found this book yet either but holy cow, I want to. I have a coverflat of this one and the one above tacked to the cork board in the library at home. Ryan keeps taking it down, I keep tacking it back up. LOL

a

a

Teresa Bodwell - Loving MercyTeresa Bodwell
Loving Mercy
This cover is defnitely in my keeper pile.

a

a

a

Katherine Garbera - Body Heat

a

a

Katherine Garbera
Body Heat

I’ve never seen this one before today but found it as I was searching for the other ones.

a
a

Whats in a cover for you? Does the cover draw you in? Are you an impulse buyer based on the cover itself?

What covers appeal to you?

I’m a sucker for a hot cover … whether it be a guy on his own or guy/girl in a hot embrace. I especially love this new type of cover that seems to be becoming popular:

Julia London - Highlander In Disguise Karen Marie Moning - The Dark Highlander

5 responses »

  1. WOW! The Cowboy cover is HOT HOT HOT, hubba hubba! No wonder you’ve tacked that up – I would.

    I don’t care for “bodice ripper” covers or “step back” covers but those seem to be going out of favor – thank God!

  2. The Cowboy and Loving Mercy…holy crapola those are hot!

    I like the new styles with the man’s chest/back/arm but without the face. I hate covers with faces. Ruins the characterization for me.

    …Fi

  3. I don’t like the Julia London one, but my friend bought the Theresa Bodwell book just for the cover and I stole it from her for the same reason. I’ve never even read it, but I pause in front of it on my shelf from time to time to stare at the cover. LOL

  4. That Alison Kent cover reminds me somewhat of J.R. Ward’s Lover Awakened cover. Does it remind anyone else of LA or am I just weird? 😛

Leave a Reply

