2nd "Remembering the Classics" Julie Garwood’s THE BRIDE

Standard


The Bride by Julie Garwood
ISBN #0-671-73779-1
Published July 1989

Back blurb:
By edict of the king, the mighty Scottish laird Alec Kinkaid must take an English bride. His choice was Jamie, youngest daughter of Baron Jamison… a fiesty, violet-eyed beauty. Alec ached to touch her, to tame her, to posess her… forever. But Jamie vowed never to surrender to this highland barbarian.

He was everything her heart warned against- an arrogant scoundrel whose rough good looks spoke of savage pleasures. And though Kinkaid’s scorching kisses fired her blood, she brazenly resisted him… until one rapturous moment quelled their clash of wills, and something for more dangerous than desire threatened to conquer her senses…

First, please don’t let this stupid blurb prevent you from reading this book. I don’t think it’s very accurate of the story and the book is much better than the blurb. Whomever wrote that should be strung-up.

Second, I rated this book a 10 which is the best score possible. Was the book perfect? No, but it is definitely one I would buy (in hard-back no less) and keep on my shelf to read again. I can certainly understand why this book is considered a classic.

Please see our next post for all the discussion details!

12 responses »

  1. I totally LOVE this book…Alec and Jamie’s story is such a good one! =)

    It’s a most definite classic in my eyes!

  2. Though I definitely love this story, there are certain parts that bother me immensely. I’ll discuss them with you later, so I don’t spoil it for anyone still reading.

    I do agree with Dee that this is a classic, however. JG at her historical best. 😉

  3. I have been in a reading slump since I finished The Flame and The Flower. After being disappointed with the Quinn I looked over and saw my stack of TAP books with The Bride on top and picked it up. I’m going to finish this bad boy tonight.

    IT IS SO FREAKING GOOD!

    OMG!!!

    I think I am going to go on a Garwood glom when I finish this one.

    I love Alec. Love, love, love!

    Biting my tongue until we can discuss it!

    …Fiona…

  4. Okay, this is one of my favourite books. So I’m going to do a quick reread tonight. YAY! LOL

    Love love love Alec and Jaime.

  5. I’m about three quarters of the way through it. Its been about 15 years since I read it the first time. Its fabulous! I so miss JG’s old writing. I’m with Fiona, I may have to go back and reread some other ones.

    I love Jamie’s bluster and Alec is so cute! He’s so feriocious (sp?) but yet he’s always trying not to grin at her.

  6. The copy of “The Bride” I got from the library had a sneak preview of “The Wedding” in it so I just had to read that too. Well, I was hooked into that story right away so when I returned “The Bride” yesterday, I check out “The Wedding”. I’ll finish it this weekend, I’m sure.

    I’ve read Julie Garwood before (off hand I can’t remember what but it was only 1 or 2) and this book has me looking to read more of her stuff. I really, really enjoyed it. It was the best book I’ve read all year.

    Big thanks to whomever suggested it for our “classic” series – excellent choice!!

  7. I stayed up until 2 am this morning reading that freakin’ book! I had to go to sleep with 30 pages left! But I got to finish it during recess! LOL

    *sigh*

    It was soooo good. Can I just say that I love when Alec calls Jamie “English”. haha…too cute.

    And I went by the UBS on my way home and bought like 4 or 5 Garwood books. I probably have them in storage but oh well!

    …Fi

  8. I completely agree! The Bride is definitely a keeper for me, and one of JG’s best. I LOVED Alec Kincaid, and I didn’t find myself annoyed at Jamie. I thought Alec and Jamie were perrrrfect together! It was so funny to have Alec pricking Jamie’s temper all the darn time. Hehe. And the ending? Aww, I loved that too!

    TatrD,
    I think you’ll enjoy The Wedding also. The girls at SF absolutely LOVE that one, more so than TB, I believe. But me, I’m all about TB and Alec Kincaid. ;o)

    Let us know how you like it. I’m keen to hear your review.

    Fi,
    What JG’s did you manage to scoop up?

  9. LOL Grace, probably all of them!

    Prince Charming
    For the Roses
    Saving Grace
    Castles
    The Prize
    The Gift
    Guardian Angel

    I finished The Secret today and am starting Saving Grace tonight.

    …Fi

  10. I’m on page 67 now. I’m starting to get frustrated at my inability to read this book. LOL I will though. And I absolutely refuse to skim!

  11. Hey Fi,

    Have you read Prince Charming before? I seem to be the only person who loves that book…let me know if you’ve read it, and if you liked it or not…

  12. Fi,
    How did you like Saving Grace? Didn’t you just fall in love with it and Gabriel, like we did?

    Oh and in case you’re particular about reading in order..I suggest finding Lions Lady before reading Guardian Angel, then The Gift and then finally Castles. Characters pop up in subsequent books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

