Elizabeth Boyle – Something About Emmaline

Standard

Just a quick note to say that I did like this book. First Boyle I’ve ever read, it was funny and romantic – great read, almost.

Now the reason for the blog about the book is I have to complain about the ending. So scroll down but be warned its all a big spoiler.

****SPOILER****

*

*

*

Seriously …. I tell the ending here. Don’t read if you don’t want to know how it ends.

*

A little background about the book – Alex has been contantly nagged by his grandmother and family to take a wife. So five years ago, while out drinking with his best friend, Alex and friend come up with this brillant plan – to invent an imaginary wife, a very ill bed-ridden wife – Emmaline. He creates an entire existance for her, a heritage and lineage – real people to play her parents, who are conventiently on a mission to Africa. It works great as his grandmother never comes to London and when Alex visits her his wife obviously can’t visit since she’s bedridden. And he tells everyone in London that she’s off at one of his other estates – again in bed because she’s so sick.

Someone manages to find out what Alex is up to and pays this con-artist cardsharp of a girl, our heroine, to play Alex’s wife. She shows up, moves into his house while he’s away, starts parading around town and buying things. Blah, blah, blah …. the story goes on, they fall in love, etc.

The End – this blows me away. I was thinking the entire time, there’s no fucking way. The heroine actually turns out to BE the exact same person that Alex made her up to be. He said that her parents were the Haleys – away to Africa – and in the end it all works out to find out that Emmaline IS actually the 20-year long lost daughter of Lord Haley that he (and she herself) never knew about. He had been secretly married to her mother and had left to go to Africa before he found out she was pregnant. Now seriously!! That’s just way too much to believe. I understand its a romance but that was taking it a little over the top.

4 responses »

  1. Yeah, I have to agree with you. That was just wrapped up entirely too neat and tidy for my taste. It would turn me off totally.

  2. I’m so with you on this one too. I was going along – really enjoying this one when just like you – boom! The ending spoiled my whole enjoyment of the book. I would have kept this one but I was so pissed off at the end I got rid of it.

  3. Are you kidding me? How bout no? That’s just retarded. LOL

    Too bad, too, because it sounded so good. *sigh*

  4. It was good!!! That’s the problem. It was a great story and then THIS! I groaned through the whole ending.

Leave a Reply

