I feel like doo-doo, blech…

Standard

Earlier this year hubby and I got serious about getting into shape. We joined the YMCA and were seriously going to the gym and watching our diet. I lost 26 lbs – way good for me and certainly better than any of my previous attempts at weight loss. This time – we meant business! We even bought bicycles and I mean serious exerising bicycles that cost a couple hundred bucks each. THIS was a commitment to our health we said, and, most surprising of all, we actually used them.

Fast forward to now, 6 months later. My dad came to town for Memorial Day weekend and I stopped working out. I went on vacation about 10 days after that and then hubby and daughter went on vacation with his sister so I had the house to myself for a week and then it was Independence Day. So, all in all, I’ve taken the last 6 weeks off and not exercised much and have eaten terribly. Result? Yeah, I’ve put back on 10 of the pounds I worked so hard to get off. Good news is I’m still down almost 20 lbs but, I’m going in the wrong direction. Knowing this, hubby and I agreed that today, after all the hubub was done, we were really going to hunker down and get serious again. Oh, and since it’s almost 100F here the past few weeks – the bikes are collecting dust in the garage.

Now, let me point out that my husband has eaten pretty well and has exercised better than I for the past 6 weeks. He has only put back on 5 lbs and he was going to the gym twice a day earlier this year so he’s lost like a total of 70 lbs. Yes, 70 freakin pounds! He looks fantastic and we had our body fat tested and he’s down to like 15% which is “athletic build”. He’s sexy as hell and I still feel like a big lard-ass. Not good for my self esteem.

Now, not to give anyone the total wrong picture – I’m not that fat. Not like those people who have to be lifted my a crane to get them out of the house or anything. When we started dieting I weighed like 193 lbs. Yes, way too much for my 5’4″ frame but not morbidly obese. As of this morning, I weighed 175 lbs. I had gotten down to 165 and could shoot myself for putting 10 lbs. back on. Right now, hubby weighs about 200 lbs. He’s 5’10” and barrel-chested so he looks pretty good at 200 lbs. Now he’s decided he wants to get down under 190 and if he does – he’ll be svelte.

Knowing yesterday was our last “hoorah” we ate like total pigs. We did get up and go to the gym but afterward, we went to Waffle House. I don’t remember if I’ve mentioned on this blog before but I adore Waffle House. I know it’s a greasy, dirt pit of a place but I like it. I had two orders of toast, an order of bacon and a double order of hash-browns -scattered, smothered, and double covered and I ate it all. We went home and I read a chapter in The Bride and then took a two hour nap on the couch. Aaahhhh, nothing like a day off.

We had some of hubby’s family over for Independent Day dinner last night. We grilled hot dogs and hamburgers, I made a hashbrown casserole, we had baked beans, cole slaw, chips & dip and I made brownies. I had a huge helping of hashbrown casserole, a hot dog with cheese and 3 brownies. I was so full when I went to bed last night I couldn’t even sleep on my stomach.

Then, this morning – UGH!!! I felt nauseus as soon as I got out of the bed. We got up at 6:00 am so we could go to the gym before I had to go to work. I gagged myself while brushing my teeth and up-chucked in the sink. It was totally gross and brownie colored. YUCK! I had this feeling like I was going to throw up the entire way to the gym. I didn’t even get a bottle of water to drink because the mere thought of putting anything else into my body was abhorent. I suffered through 38 minutes on the elliptical trainer and burned 338 calories (which is probably equivalent to 1 stupid evil horrible brownie).

Since it’s raining, hubby doesn’t have to work today and he was finally watching the season finale of Lost when I left to go to work. I think I’ll go home in about an hour and have a bowl of chicken noodle soup for lunch. That sounds soothing to me and, fortunately, it’s even healthy.

I’m not feeling nauseus any longer which is a good thing but I haven’t had so much as a sip of water all day. I just couldn’t bear it until the last half hour or so but I still dont’ have the nerve to do it yet. Food is evil and I don’t want any part of it.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve been somewhat the same way since we’ve been back from vacation. I haven’t been able to go to my beloved kickboxing class for nearly a month, and it makes me feel like a fat ass. But you and I will both get back on the wagon, and you’ll be quite the hottie by fall, I bet!

  2. “hottie” yep – that’s me!

    38 minutes on the elliptical trainer this morning and in an hour I’ll be in yoga class! Yes, I’m just the epitome of health.

Leave a Reply

