2nd Remembering the Classics – Julie Garwood’s THE BRIDE

Standard

NOW SEE OUR REVIEWS BELOW


The Bride by Julie Garwood
ISBN #0-671-73779-1
Published July 1989

Back blurb:
By edict of the king, the mighty Scottish laird Alec Kinkaid must take an English bride. His choice was Jamie, youngest daughter of Baron Jamison… a fiesty, violet-eyed beauty. Alec ached to touch her, to tame her, to posess her… forever. But Jamie vowed never to surrender to this highland barbarian.

He was everything her heart warned against- an arrogant scoundrel whose rough good looks spoke of savage pleasures. And though Kinkaid’s scorching kisses fired her blood, she brazenly resisted him… until one rapturous moment quelled their clash of wills, and something for more dangerous than desire threatened to conquer her senses…

Jennifer says:

First, please don’t let this stupid blurb prevent you from reading this book. I don’t think it’s very accurate of the story and the book is much better than the blurb. Whomever wrote that should be strung-up.

Second, I rated this book a 10 which is the best score possible. Was the book perfect? No, but it is definitely one I would buy (in hard-back no less) and keep on my shelf to read again. I can certainly understand why this book is considered a classic.

We waited a couple weeks and are going to discuss story details below. Please don’t read down if you don’t want to know any spoilers…

Alec Kinkaid:
First, let me say I adored Alec. I thought him trying not to ever yell at Jamie was sweet and he was trying very hard to be a caring and compassionate man. However, I thought it odd that he was so cold concerning his first wife and was blown away that he had a step-daughter that he just let get shuffled about and even abused. I’m sure he didn’t know about the abuse but to not even question her care was neglectful. Then, all of a sudden, he was this great dad? I thought that was a little hard to swallow but it was really the only thing in the book that didn’t sit well with me.
I also pictured Alec to be very handsome and I LOVED how they met – the groom was talking with Jamie and Alec heard the whole thing. It was such a great scene!

Jamie:
Did the book ever give her last name? I know she was the step-daughter of the Baron Jameson but I didn’t recall it ever telling Jamie’s last name. I thought it was odd that her step-father supposedly loved her the most over his own natural children but I don’t think it was really love. It was co-dependence. Jamie did everything and her family took advantage of her.

That said, I think she was really trying to help Alec once they got to Scotland. I LOVED how she stood up to people and didn’t let people take advantage of her. She was a strong but believable character and she was delightful.

I liked the pace of the book too. I like how they kept the focus on the love story and the murder mystery was kept in the background. It was a nice addition but it didn’t distract from the romance.

Like I said earlier, I’d give this book a 10. I liked it so much I went out and got “The Wedding” which appears to be similar.

Valeen says:

Really there isn’t much more to say that Jen hasn’t already said. LOL.

I’d seriously forgotten how much I loved this book. It’s so nice to actually go back to a guaranteed good read … to know its going to be great. THIS is what Julie Garwood should continue to write.

There were so many moments in this book that I loved. I really enjoyed how Alec continually tried to make Jamie angry … just to see her all riled up. Alec is my favourite kind of alpha hero … the possesive, capable kind but yet he was still able to let Jamie be who she was (even though he wanted her to settle in) and yet he wasn’t stubborn-to-being-an-idiot point about anything.

I found Jamie’s point of view very modern and at some places it threw me out of the book. I also found a lot of the sayings and vocabulary to be a bit more present time than it should be. Who said “all tuckered out” in 12th century Scotland? Or even just “Oh, God.” (Jen seconds this too, it wasn’t accurate speech for the time but it was easier to read with vocabulary I was familiar with).

Jamie’s father and sisters were the most annoying parts of the entire book to me. That Jamie was the baby, yet she was still made to do all the chores and to protect everyone else in the household.

I really enjoyed the constant interaction between Jamie and Alec. And how Jamie didn’t let anyone walk all over her – even though she was technically the outsider.

My favourite scenes are:

After swearing that she wouldn’t wear his plaid – and Alec that he wouldn’t touch her again until she did, Jamie takes a freezing cold dip in the lake and then rushes to where Alec is sleeping so that she can have him warm her up with his body heat.
She was just drifting off to sleep when Alec spoke to her.
“Jamie?”
“Yes, Alec?” she whispered against his ear.
“You’re wearing my plaid.”

When Jamie asked for permission from Alec to rearrange the kitchens … and then Alec’s response when he arrived home to find out what she had really done. And the way that Jamie would always shout back at Alec without realizing it. And she wore black to her wedding!! hahaha …

“Sheep settle in, Kincaid. I’m a lady, if you haven’t taken the time to notice”
“I’ve noticed.” The way he drew out the remark made her heart quicken.

The confrontation with Laird McPherson about his baby son after he refused to tell his wife to feed the baby goats milk:
“Then you can just go home without your son, McPherson. I won’t let you kill him with your ignorance. Come back when he’s old enough to fend for himself.” And then to turn around and see that Alec was behind her, ready to do war for her.

And …. oh, so many more but I was too stupid to mark the pages of all the places where I ohhhh’d at Alec.

14 responses »

  1. Where oh where to start?

    I thought Alec was a great alpha. He was never too stubborn. And I loved the way he kept walking up behind her when she didn’t know he was there. And English. Calling her English was great. Garwood did a good job of giving Alec very natural actions. Like after he sees the kitchen has a hole ripped in the wall and he’s sitting at the table with his hand rubbing his forehead like he’s in pain! LOL

    I agree Valeen about Jamie’s speech. She was a little too forward thinking for her time but it still made for a good read.

  2. Now, what I didn’t like about the book was the unfinished ending. Yeah, I think Jamie’s family life should have been addressed. Why was she the favorite? Why did Mary and the other girls depend on her? Why did the girls get to sit on her fathers lap but not her? I thought Garwood was building up to the great “A-ha” moment with Jamie about the way she was treated growing up and it never came. Very disappointing.

  3. PS…I knew it was Annie. Was I the only one? As soon as Jamie made the comment that Annie wasn’t right, I thought yep, it’s her alright!

  4. Jennifer,

    I think I bought into the whole Alec and daughter thing because he had her at her grandmothers. When Marcus piped up and defended Alec saying he had been taking care of her it sort of smoothed everything over for me.

    I do agree though that Alec seemed very distant from his relationship with Helena. And I wasn’t crazy about the idea that he didn’t even know what Mary Kathleen looked like.

    ROFL! I’ll stop hogging the comments now!

    …Fi

  5. LOL! I like all the comments!

    I had no clue that it was Annie. Not a clue. At first I thought it was Marcus … and then maybe Edith. But I ditched both of those in my mind very soon. But I couldn’t figure it out – even though I’ve read this one before.

  6. this is one of those classics that always makes it to the lists but god only knows why the plot has never interested me at all.

  7. The only major conflict in the book is between Jamie and Alec (until the very, very end of course). So all the tension is between them. Once again, no major separations between the hero and heroine. And the secondary characters didn’t hog the page. I like that. I like seeing their interaction. I don’t like suspense so I’m always glad when it isn’t twisted up into the plot of my books.

    Fi

  8. Okay, I’m still reading this book, little bits at a time. I’m not forcing myself, so I think I’ll be able to preserve my “liking” of this book.

    Anyway, one scene I really liked is when Jamie realizes Alec had his own sword – he had a whole wall of them! And then the part where she grabs a club to go beat up one of the twins. hehehe

    I remember thinking it was Annie. Because they said she wasn’t “right.”

  9. This book is so full of great moments! I was laughing so hard at the time when she was telling him she was going to buy him a sword.

    I can’t wait to hear what the beef Holly had with this book is!

  10. I had forgotten about Jamie pulling the club off the wall and going to beat up the wrong twin! That was hilarious! And Alec thinking she was crazy until she explained that the evil twin had tried to kiss her! LOL

  11. Fiona, your second comment basically outlined what I disliked about this book.

    The truth is, WE as readers, through Alec, realized why Jamie’s family treated her the way they did. We saw that she wasn’t treated well by them, or included as part of the family, until she proved her worth. But JAMIE never saw it.

    That’s what bugged me about it. Jamie just never realized how her family truly was. There was never, as you said, an Aha moment where Jamie acknowledges what POS’s her family were. I wanted her, if only internally, to admit that her father was flawed, that he wasn’t all that she claimed he was.

    I think what I really wanted was for her to realize that what Alec showed her was TRUE love, not love that has to be earned. Wasn’t that the moral Garwood was trying to teach us? And yet Jamie never realized it. THAT ruined it for me. Well, maybe not quite ruined, but close.

    I thought the whole moral of the story was supposed to be that true love is unconditional, but JG didn’t follow through.

    Dylan and I debate about this all the time. Bugs the crap out of me, but she says the Baron was Jamie’s father, so of course she wouldn’t want to think badly of him. I say he was no father at all. LOL

    Anyway, just my 2 cents.

    I DID like all the parts y’all mentioned, and I knew it was Annie, too. 😉

  12. I agree Holly. He wasn’t a father. He only wanted Jamie because she was essentially his house keeper. Jamie did admit to…someone…that he father tried to sell her to that other guy, but I didn’t think that was enough. And what about Mary? Why did Mary feel Jamie should protect her? They never addressed that. Just that her husband (sheesh, I can’t remember any names today!) was angry about it.

    Fi

  13. I was disappointed in the fact that we didn’t get to see how well Daniel and Mary turned out. If they got everything resolved and if Mary came to understand that Jamie shouldn’t have protected her.

  14. In regards to Mary & Daniel, it’s written that after Jamie had her talk with Mary, Mary didn’t come visit for two days and when she did, she was very happy. *wink*

    So, because I didn’t really like Mary, that was good enough for me.

    I love when Jamie wants to move into one of the upstairs bedrooms and Alec is all worried, thinking she wants to sleep by herself. I like those little instances where he’s vulnerable when it comes to Jamie and he doesn’t even realize.

    And another thing got on my nerves (because it was done several times) was at the end of the a chapter, Jamie would think to herself that Alec is such a considerate man (or something to that effect) and then in the beginning of the next chapter it would say “She was married to a pig.”
    The first time was kind of funny, but to do it again and again? Nope.

Leave a Reply

