I just can’t keep up

Standard

Last week Fiona and I were talking about the newest hubbub between authors and readers – where she asked me if I was following it. I said that I wasn’t.

I just can’t keep up. I’ll go in and I’ll read the main blog post and comment to it but after that, I don’t have the time or the patience (or even the memory) to continue on and read through one hundred different comments THEN follow all the links the thirteen other bloggers who’ve posted about it. Then their comments as well.

Then I’m lost. I don’t know what’s going on in the bloggerland and have to rely on the little tidbits of everyone’s that’s floating around.

But even beyond that, two of my old favourite blogs – Smart Bitches and Michelle’s Romance By The Blog, I used to visit and comment more than daily, more so commenting with Michelle’s. But now, each post on both sites has over 100 comments. And for some reason for me, I tend to groan at that. I wonder if its just laziness?

4 responses »

  1. I feel the same way, the only time I hear about the blog fights and what not is from what my friends tell me, I dont’ really pay all that much attention to all that crap, nor do I really care to, I wouldn’t go back and read all those 100 comments, I’d leave well enough alone and go back to all the happy sites where everything is still fun, there’s so many other more important things to worry about then to worry about which author is back talking this blogger and what not…I don’t want to know about all that stuff anymore, enough is enough…

    I don’t think it’s laziness though, Valeen, I think it’s just that we want to be left in the dark about all that drama madness! And it’s all good in the hood! 😉

  2. LOL – I definitely hate being left in the dark.

    I don’t know what it is, I just can’t seem to stand to go through posts that have a hundred comments. And even if I was to say something, I’d either a) be repeating someone else or b) the topic would have changed since the original post and I’d be looking like a dork.

  3. I read the original post, but I won’t go hunting around for what everyone says. And I’ll only do it once, I won’t go back the next day or even hours later to go see what’s being said. There are way too many comments sometimes and I don’t bother.

Leave a Reply

