Sherrilyn Kenyon – Dark Side of the Moon

Standard


Product Details:
ISBN: 0312357435
Format: Hardcover, 322pp
Pub. Date: May 2006
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Series: Dark-Hunter Series

Blurb:

Susan Michaels was once the hottest reporter on the Beltway Beat until a major scandal ruined her life and left her writing stories about alien babies and Elvis sightings. Life as she once knew it is over, or so she thinks until she gets a lead on the biggest story in town: The Seattle Slayer. She heads to the local animal shelter, expecting a tip on the latest rash of killings. Instead, she gets a story about the mayor feeding citizens to a ring of vampires… yeah. Just another day in her life.

Then she gets talked into adopting a cat she’s allergic to. Her first thought is to neuter the cat. But when he turns out to be a gorgeous shapeshifting man who claims to be an immortal vampire slayer she thinks: not so fast. Next thought: seek professional help.

Susan doesn’t know what to believe, but as she’s drawn into a paranormal world, she comes to realize that the story that could bring her credibility is too unbelievable to expose. Now it’s no longer a question of bringing the truth to her readers, it’s a matter of saving lives and souls, and her only ally is a man she’s allergic to. In the world of the Dark-Hunters, it’s always dangerous. But never more so than when one very human woman can shatter their entire world with just one story. The only question is… will she? Dark Side of the Moon is full of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s trademark sexy humor and breathtaking imagination.

Ravyn, although described as not wanting anyone to get close to him, didn’t come across that way. He wasn’t as intimidating as the other Dark-Hunters. He also didn’t have nearly as much depth as the other DH’s. He was just simply there. We heard the story of his tradegy but just didn’t feel that in him. His lines were beyond cheesy at times – in a not so PG example – after Susan finishes going down on him he tells her “You’re the best.” WTF?? From a Dark-Hunter??? Come on people. He was completely at odds with how he’s described to the reader in the very beginning.

Susan was an extremely sarcastic heroine … and I know that annoyed some people but it didn’t seem to bother me. And I loved that Ravyn looked beyond that to realize it was just the way she talked.

I also found it really odd that Ash allowed Susan to sneak up on him. Ash seemed to be less cocky in this book and I’m not sure I liked it.

Nice to see Nick and I’m very interested to see how SK takes this new twist. Bad that he turned on Ash like he did. In previous books, Ash and Nick were portrayed as best friends .. I find it hard to believe that Nick didn’t understand the do/don’t abilities Ash has with his mind control.

The love-story didn’t suck me in like the others, I didn’t find there was much chemistry between them and the ending was … well blah. It just kinda happened and that was it. They didn’t bond like the other Dark-Hunters and that bothered me. And Ravyn wasn’t free of being a Dark-Hunter so he’s still in the never-ending danger. How did Susan become immortal? Just simply because she mated to a Were?

Even though this most definitely was not one of SK’s best … IMO … it was interesting enough that I was able to finish it in a day.

5 responses »

  1. I just finished reading this book this afternoon!! Great minds think alike.
    And I have to agree with everything you said. In past SK books, the h/h are immediately attracted to each other and that didn’t happen right away with this book. I think it was around page 96 where Susan actually admits she finds Ravyn attractive. And some of the lines were extremely cheesy.

    I’m sick to death of the Appollite and Daimons though. Sometimes I just wanted to flip over their parts.

  2. See, for me, the inconsistancies with the “rules” she set up for her DH world were what bugged. Since the very beginning of the series the whole point of the story was for the DH’s to get their souls back. That was like…THE THING. But in this book, Ravyn decides he doesn’t want to and that’s that? Okaayyy…

    Plus, I’m sick unto death of the Ash/Artie thing. Yes, we get it, no need to rehash the constant sex/torture crap he has to endure.

    Nick seemed like a big fat baby to me, but that was in keeping with his character, so it didn’t bother me. And Susan’s sarcasm wasn’t that bad, except for a few times when it was UBER cheesy.

    And the whole Cael thing didn’t work with her original rules, either.

    Overall, the story was alright, but things like Dark Angel (the girl who had a blog) not even being punished for exposing the DH world was just retarded. *shrug*

    Ok, sorry! I kind of went off, eh? LOL

  3. Oh you read it, cool!

    I’m really over the whole DH stuff, thanks to Holly…LOL. Her arguments though about this series are on point though, because the whole thing with Cael? Didnt’ make a lick of sense…and then Ericka going unpunished after she had her BLOG up about him, didn’t make a damn bit of sense either, why wasn’t she punished?

    Too many things are wrong with this series and it’s going down the drain…I’m only pimping out the first like five books of this series, my pimping ends at Vals book…LOL.

  4. You’re right … there are many inconsistencies.

    Ravyn choosing to not regain his soul bugged me … Alot. And really .. why wasn’t it explained that Susan was now immortal? And it was so odd that with just one word … no .. it was decided that he wasn’t going to fight for his soul.

    I mean she has a year to write the book … and there are probably many many editors and pre-readers … so things like this stuff should be picked up on.

  5. I am so late to this discussion.

    I was totally pissed off by Nick’s actions. WTF???? Why turn on Ash like that? And Nick blaming Ash for Katrina?

    I agree that this wasn’t one of the better books, there were just so many things left hanging. Like why didn’t Stryker go after Ravyn while he was vulerable?

    Ash/Artie I’m major tired of. Cael was just plain down right strange and out of place. Is it possible that he will come into a future book and have some kind of impact? And what’s the deal with him becoming a D and being a DH?

    Erika needed some sort of justice for what she did. If it had been any other squire they’d had major shit going on with the council.

    I was also bugged by the fact that Ravyn didn’t want his soul back. By remaining a DH they can’t have kids. Hello!!! He states plainly that he wants kids.

    Now see I loved Susan’s sarcasm. I guess it’s because I’m a lot like her. Even down to the cheesy lines. I enjoyed her personality a lot.

Leave a Reply

