Alison Kent – Deep Breath

Standard

DEEP BREATH
Alison Kent

Paperback: 306 pages
Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corporation (April 6, 2006)
Language: English
ISBN: 0758211139

LOVE THE COVER!

Blurb:

When a guy stops at a roadside diner, he expects bad chili, not a hostage situation. But that’s where SG-5 operative Harry van Zandt finds himself when an armed cartel blows through the door They’re not after him but the woman in the next booth, and their message is clear: she’s got seventy-two hours to locate and deliver a valuable historical document or her brother dies. And if Harry wants to live, he’d better go with her.

Harry has his own undercover mission to finish, but with a trigger-happy band on their tails, it’ll have to wait. Not that he minds helping George McClain. The tough treasure hunter is as smart as she is sexy. She’s also desperate. That artifact could finally clear her late father’s name. She needs Harry if she’s going to double-cross these thugs and keep it for herself, and her gratitude is the kind that could turn a guy’s head. Too bad that document is of vital importance to the Smithson Group, and Harry’s Top Secret Mission is to get it before it falls into the wrong hands.

Now, the beautiful, infuriating woman he’s starting to fall for could lead him right to what he needs–“and what she so desperately wants. Out on the open road with a price on their heads, two unlikely lovers are caught in a game of secrets, lies, betrayals, and desire, where trust is risky and love leaves no time to catch your breath.

I won this book in a contest on Alison Kent’s blog a couple of months ago. I’m just now able to read it but I wish I’d picked it up when it first came! This was my first book in this series and again by this author. I wish that they were available in mass market paperback so that I could pick up the rest of the series. (seriously, Trade paperbacks are $20 a pop here in Canada, it sucks).

I did feel as if I was missing something by not reading all of the previous books first – the commandery between all the team members and learning about Harry before his own book. What was different and good to me was the fact that Harry was new to the team – he wasn’t the typical ‘been doing this forever, ready to get out of the game and settle down’ hero. He was new and didn’t want to leave or jeopardize his position. I kind of felt that because all of the other team members are already married and out of the picture that we didn’t get to see as much of them as I would have liked. But that would only require me to read all the other books to see that.

I wonder if Georgia’s brother will eventually get his own book? Now that’s a story I would love to read. And Simon Baptiste? Does he already have his own book out? I read on her site that the next installment is the last and it is Ezra Moore’s. I’ll have to read up some more on the series.

The story was hot … great sex scenes HOT. The ending most definitely left me wanting to read the next book! Finished the entire thing in one day – I was up till 1am this morning to get it done.

One response »

  1. I want to read more Alison Kent after my harlequin experiment. But like you, I don’t want to plunk down 20 buckeroos for a book.

Leave a Reply

