Crusie & Mayer – Don’t Look Down

Standard


DON’T LOOK DOWN
Jennifer Crusie & Bob Mayer

Product Details
ISBN: 0312348126ISBN-13: 9780312348120
Format: Hardcover, pp. 384
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

I was disappointed in this book, I really was. I luurve Jenny Crusie – I’m totally into all of her work. But this one just didn’t work for me. It was good … and in the beginning I was laughing out loud at the characters, thinking how great this book was going to be. And then it flopped.

To start … Lucy starts out the book basically giving the impression that its her and her ex-husband that are going to get together … at least for the first couple pages. Even going so far as to say in her head “now, that’s why I married you” when he makes her the main focus of his attention.

There was absolutely zero chemistry between the protagonists – until they hop into bed together late in the book and are immediately spending the rest of their lives together. They actually spend next to no time together until the very end either. Little snatches here and there but not enough for the reader to get a good feel for seeing them together.

The entire book happens over four days. Night one — Wilder (the hero) actually has sex with one of the actresses in the movie, when she shows up in his hotel room. Night three, Lucy shows up at his sleeping area … and he has sex with her. One night in between people!! And Lucy figures she wants to spend the rest of her life with him. And tells him so that very night.

I’m seeing from reading some Amazon reviews that alot of people were bothered by the amount of swearing in the book — but it didn’t bother me. I found it to be a part of Lucy’s character and at least she stayed with that throughout the entire book.

I also found all of the constant references to the military annoying. It was about every other sentence.

Anyone else get the feeling that Rene and Daisy are going to get their own book??

6 responses »

  1. Oh no Ames! Defnitely do not read this as a JC first. She is a wicked author … try something else out first (like BET ME or MANHUNTING)

  2. I had a problem with how the book ended too. But I think I remember reading on their blog that their editor made them do it or something. Because before I don’t think there were any sex scenes and that Wilder never said I love you. But since this is being marketed to romance readers they demanded those two things be in the novel. Or something. Don’t quote me on that.

  3. Yeah, Samantha, you’re right. They wrote the book with no sex scenes at all and Crusie’s editor made them put them in.

    I was disappointed by this one too. Just wasn’t what I was expecting.

    Though it was interesting to read a romance hero that was actually written by a man.

  4. I haven’t read this one yet, because of the mixed reviews it’s gotten and because I love JC and don’t want her image tarnished in my mind.

    Have you read her latest book? I can’t think of the name, but it’s a May-Dec. romance. I have it on my shelf and I’m terrified to read it. LOL I think I’m afraid that she’ll never do better than Bet Me and I’ll just be disappointed in anything else.

Leave a Reply

