Thanksgiving Approaches!!!

Standard

Hubby and I went to the grocery store yesterday to purchase all the Thanksgiving stuff. This year, Thanksgiving is at our house on the Wednesday evening before Thanksgiving (to accomodate all the kids schedules) and we’re having 17 people. Yes 17 people! Are we nuts? Probably.

Why do I say that? For those of you that don’t know me that well, it’s because I don’t cook. It’s not that I can’t cook (technically I can but not that many things) but it’s that I don’t really enjoy cooking. Well, actually, that’s not really true either. I don’t enjoy cleaning more so than I don’t enjoy cooking.

Anyway, back to my story, Hubby and I are wandering around the grocery store and go to the turkey display. There stands a woman with a paper towel selecting turkeys and patting them dry. Hubby asks her if she’s a turkey expert and can she help us pick one. She says she likes Butterball and Perdue brands and makes sure the bag isn’t cut and fluid leaking out because bacteria can get in there. That’s why she has the paper towels – smart lady. She finds two she likes – picks the larger and hubby asks if we can have the other one since she’s done all the work. Cool – 22.21 pounds of turkey go into our cart. I call my mom to find out what I need to make turkey gravy and I tell her about our turkey. She says that isn’t enough for 17 people and I should get a ham too. So, we select a freakin’ $20 ham that probably weighs 10 pounds after detailed instructions on the phone from my mom about getting one on the bone, not pale, with a side of fat and blah, blah, blah. I haven’t even started cooking and this already seems like too much work. $250 later it takews two carts to get everything to the car and we have to find a lpace for all this in my refridgerator. Good Lord – I think I’ve lost my mind! How am I supposed to cook a turkey AND a ham in my one oven? Pray for me!

8 responses »

  1. I’ll pray, but I’m sure it will turn out fine. Wow, that’s a lot of people! I still need to get to the store to do my Thanksgiving shopping ~ I’ll probably end up going to Walmart tonight after the movie. That’s about the only time I can stand that place is when it’s late. 🙂

  2. I’m with you, Devonna. I HATE HATE HATE Wal-Mart but sometimes it’s the only place you can get some things. They’re always cheaper but the stores are always messy, the check-out lines are way too long (even though they have 100 check-out stands only 3 are open at a time), you can never find anyone to help you, etc. GGRRrrrrrrr

  3. I say you return it all and cater the whole thing. Lord knows I’d do it. Then again I can’t cook and that seems like too much work. LOL.

    But good luck to you!!!!!!!

  4. Good luck sweetie! It’ll work out, no worries…though I do feel you, cooking for that many people can be a total chore. But you’ll do great and you’ll have great thanksgiving stories to tell in the future! =)

  5. Uh, wait till you have to pull out the inards and stuff it. There is nothing like having to stuff a turkey to become way too familiar with the anotomy of an animal. I couldn’t eat the first time I cooked a turkey – I was too stressed and tired. And there was the part where I suddenly knew for a fact where the bird’s head had been!

    You’ll do great and lean on hubby! I’m blessed in that Bob thinks nothing of cleaning the whole kitchen when I do a big meal.

    Lots and lots of luck!

    Cindy

  6. Cindy – hubby knows I can’t touch raw meat. Not even chicken breasts. No WAY could I stick my hand inside a turkey carcass and pull out the “bag o’ parts”. That’s Hubby’s job.

    Kelli – as much as I appreciate the recipe, do you really think I’d eat a sweet potato?

  7. MAN! I can’t believe you’re doing all of that. You should’ve told me this am on the phone! I love cooking all of that, but it would be a little overwhelming with 17 people. I don’t touch the meet either – hubby does that. I also don’t stuff the turkey – we just make stuffing on the side and then you can put it with the turkey as you eat it.

    What kills me Tatr is that you won’t eat half of what you cook, haha. Your family will help – so it won’t be too bad. Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

