Holiday Foods

Standard

With my brain obsessed with the gigantic meal I have to prepare tomorrow, it got me to wondering…

What food(s) make the holidays for you?

For me, ham and scalloped potatoes are Christmas and Easter. Turkey is (of course) Thanksgiving but in addition to that we usually have:

mashed potatoes
home-made turkey gravy
green beans (used to be casserole but nobody really liked it so we just make regular ones now)
macaroni & cheese (for the kids and perhaps, just a little, for me too)
shell salad (Hubby LOVES it)
deviled eggs (we have these on every holiday but I guess deviled eggs could be weird for Easter)
rolls
and loads of desserts including brownies, broken-glass cake, better-than-sex cake, etc.

Funny, we don’t have pumpkin pie, sweet potato casserole, or cranberry sauce as most people do for Thanksgiving. I don’t think anybody in my family likes any of that.

I’m really hungry now.

By the way – I’m off from work until Monday so I’ll try to post this weekend if I get the chance. otherwise, Happy Thanksgiving to everyone and a delightful start to the Holidays!!!

2 responses »

  1. Well, Thanksgiving is Turkey and Ham, mashed potatoes, gravy, sweet potatoes, salad, rolls, vegetable, green rice, frog eye salad, pumpkin pie and cheesecake.

    Christmas is Prime Ribe, baked potatoes, salad, rolls, vegetable, green rice, frog eye salad, and cheesecake.

    Easter is Ham w/ maple glaze, sour cream mashed potatoes, biscuits, green rice, frog eye salad, and cheesecake.

    We pretty much have the same menu everytime.

  2. I had never heard of anyone else eating frog eye salad except my relatives in MN! Glad to hear you’re enojoying it.

    What’s green rice?

Leave a Reply

