Birthday Thoughts…

Standard

Thank you, Valeen, for my birthday banner!

Yes, today is my birthday. I’m 34. My birthdays don’t bother me (at least not yet). I already have gray hairs and they don’t really bother me either. I figure I’ve earned them. I do cover them with highlights but they’re there and I know it and I’m okay with it.

My sister always decorates for birthdays. I left my house this morning and she had put a balloon on my mailbox and decorations were on the front of my office with little signs on each of the office windows indicating today was my birthday. I walk into my office and it’s covered in white streamers and black balloons. One of the balloons says “Get well soon” and another says “Wedding shower” but she said it was 6:30 in the monring when she was at Wal-Mart picking out balloons so I’ve forgiven her.

I love birthdays. I think it’s cool that you have a day when everyone has to celebrate you, treat you nice, buy you stuff, and do stuff for you. How could you not love a day like this?That being said, there is one thing I REALLY don’t like about my birthday. It’s 11 days before Christmas. Anyone that knows me knows how I feel about people just lumping December birthdays in with Christmas. December birthday people DO NOT want:

* birthday gifts wrapped in Christmas paper
* Christmas items as birthday gifts* a Christmas card that says , oh yeah, happy birthday
* a card that says Merry Birthday or Happy Christmas or any other combination of the two a

nd the worse offense of all…

A COMBO gift. A combo gift is the worst possible thing you can do to a December birthday person. What if your birthday was in April and I gave you a combo gift with Easter? Basically, you have taken that person’s one special day a year that is supposed to be all about them and just lumped it in with something else. You’ve stolen that person’s limelight. No, I’m not bitter.

Hubby, my daughter, my family, and friends know my feelings about combo gifts and usually do very very well not to do this to me. Now my Godson’s birthday is in December as well and I have vowed to protect him from the crappy birthday/Christmas combo gifts.It may sound like I’m bitching but I’m not.

Hubby has gotten me an awsome Christmas gift and a seperate and equally awesome birthday gift. We are having a party and dinner tomorrow night to celebrate and open gifts all for me. The next day, we’re having my Godson’s party so it can be all about him and he can revel in the glory of his own very special day.I just got back from breakfast with my two sisters, my mom called me and woke me up this morning by singing happy birthday, I’m having lunch with Hubby and then dinner with my daughter. How could this day get any better?

Happy Birthday to me!

2 responses »

  1. Oh gosh I can just imagine how mad you would be to get combo gifts! And that’s cute what your sister does for you..aww, I love it!

    Have a great special day, Jen!

Leave a Reply

