Rocky Balboa and other guys

Standard

We went to see the new Rocky movie tonight. You can’t possibly imagine what this means to my husband. I’ve known my husband for 14 years and in all that time he has lamented how much he hated how the Rocky franchise ended. Apparently, the last movie ended with him broke – having lost all his money on who knows what. This has always left the series on a sour note for many people. Actually, I’m more surprised, frankly, that so many people were so emotionally invested in this character.

We’re sitting in the 9:30 showing of the movie and the theater is quite crowded. Most of the patrons are men in their 30’s – no surprise as this is the age of men who grew up with Rocky movies.
I won’t spoil the ending but it may be a little surprising to some people. The crowd in our theater laughed and clapped several times. It was a little poignant. Before the movie started, I asked Hubby what he would do if the film ended with Rocky dying. He said he would lay down on the dirty, nasty floor of the theater and weep openly. What a goofball.
I got a nice surprise though. I’ve become a HUGE fan of the new NBC show Heroes. I had gotten a little behind and watched like 5 episodes last weekend, staying up till 2am to get them all in. I just adore that show. The guy that plays Peter Petrelli – the guy who can fly and the policitcian’s little brother – is in Rocky. He plays Rocky’s son:
Here he is as Peter on Heroes.

By the way – the sleazy politician on the show is played by Adrian Pasdar. Know who his real-life wife is? Natalie Maines – the big mouthed lead singer of the Dixie Chicks. Can’t stand her but I he’s okay :
a
a
a
a
a
If you haven’t seen Heroes yet, you should definitely check it out. I think they’re going to have a marathon January 1 of all the episodes.
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
Oh, I changed my wallpaper on my computer at home. I’ve already mentioned how I adore that show dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe on the Discovery Channel. You can download wallpapers from the website www.discovery.com/dirtyjobs I almost picked this one:

 


a
But decided this one was more “me”:
a
a
It just makes me laugh.
4 responses »

  1. I didn’t realize he was married to Natalie Maines. I like her! Love their singing as well.

    I tried to watch Heroes in the beginning but I wasn’t really able to get into it so I gave it up.

    Ryan’s also going on and on about how he’s going to watch this Rocky movie – he didn’t think it was out in theatres until this weekend coming. I’ve personally never seen the rest of them so I have no interest in seeing this one.

  2. Since Heroes has been on, I’ve wondered if he is Sylvester Stallone’s son, because they both have the same lip thing going on. Great casting!

    I love Dirty Jobs, too. And David has gotten me hooked on Man vs. Wild. That guy is over the top with his survival tactics, sometimes, but it’s interesting.

  3. Wasn’t sure if I wanted to see the new Rocky but now I just might!

    and OMG ( I literally said this out loud just now)

    “Natalie Maines – the big mouthed lead singer of the Dixie Chicks.”

    GODdang I hate her. I think his character needs killed off too.

  4. Hmm I didn’t realize it ended that way. The film isn’t out here yet and I’m not sure how popular it will be over this way, as this was still a commie country when Rocky was fighting the commie boxer and I’m doubting it was shown here – so no Rocky legacy to pump up.

    Sly Stone looks good in the previews though – what is he, 90? Looks fantastic! 😉

Leave a Reply

