Monday Thoughts…

Standard
Hope everyone had a great weekend. We did. Hubby and I went to dinner with friends Saturday night and went back to their house and played Trivial Pursuit 80’s. I grew up in the late 70’s and 80’s and thought I would kick butt at this game – WRONG. It was hard because I don’t follow any sports nor was I old enough to know much national news nor do I know geography. Hubby eneded up winning but we were all happy just to be done with the game.

I LOVE games. I mean LOVE them! My favorite is Scrabble but I suck at it. I have the deluxe game with the spinning board (it’s on a turntable) and I even bought the “Official Scrabble Dictionary” but having these things doesn’t make you any good. I also love Spades but you have to have 4 people to play that and I can’t ever talk Hubby into playing since he hates games- especially card games. I dont’ like Clue though because I suck at that. My daughter’s favorite game is Life but I don’t care for that one much either. We play Uno and Phase 10 at my office a lot when we have down time. We also play old-fashioned Rummy but eveyone plays by different rules so that makes it hard sometimes. I learned how to play Dominoes this past year and LOVE that game. But, you have to have a lot of room on which to play that and they’re noisy.

We watched the movie Little Miss Sunshine last night at the insistence of my friend, Kelli. It was cute but I don’t know what all the hype was about. The son was weird but the grandfather (played by Alan Arkin) was a hoot and I liked Steve Carell’s character. Them having to push the bus every time they left cracked me up too.

I also watched The Englishman Who Went Up a Hill But Came Down a Mountain last night. It was a little slow but a cute movie. I had no idea it was based on a true story until the very end. Wow – those Welsh are nuts.
Oh, that reminds me – you know how I admitted to watching Flavor of Love earlier this year? Well, that series has been long over but there was a particularly nasty girl they called New York who was on the first season and came back for the second season and actually ended up coming in 2nd place both times. Well, I saw a clip on VH1 that she’s got her own show!!! I Love New York premieres tonight (I think). Her crazy mom is going to be on it with her. I don’t want to watch this show but feeled compelled to do so (hanging my head in shame.)
4 responses »

  1. I LOVE games too. We do Dominos (call it Mexian Dominos) and I love it. I also like Sequence – good game. Othello is a good 2-person game as well as Batgammon (although I don’t remember how to play it). I’m like you I like Spades it’s one of the few card games I can follow, but it’s hard to get enough people. I play Sorry and Battleship with my son and love that too.

    There’s a really good group game: Taboo that I really like and am good at.

    We should take a scrapbook break on our weekend and do that game (I’ll bring if you want – email me).

    Movies: I watched “Invincible” with Mark Whalberg yesterday and enjoyed it. Based on a true story as well.

    I liked “Night at the Museum” – did you?

  2. OMG! I just got hooked onto Flavor of Love this Christmas! hehe It was a marathon too and I watched like 4 shows. New York is awful. Who “wins” by the way?

    And I know that I’m going to watch I love New York. LOL

  3. Katey Sue – I love Sequence – we play it all the time. I also forgot to list Pictionary – I rock at this game.

    Ames – It’s like a car wreck isn’t it? I can’t stand to watch it but I just can’t look away. Flav picked Delicious for the winner.

Leave a Reply

