Oh My GAWD!

Standard

Caught the last little bit of I Love New York tonight on VH1. I can’t STAND that nasty girl! She thinks she’s just “all that” and I’m already tired of looking at her big icky boobies! UGH! I really don’t know if I’m going to be able to watch this. I only caught like the last 15 minutes so I set my DVR to record the whole episode tomorrow and I’ll make my decision. That poor dorky white kid she kept – Mr. Boston? Oh, I really feel sorry for him! You just know she’s never going to keep him for real and I think it’s mean of her to leave him on there to exploit him as he’ll make good tv.

I have a bad habit of not getting up on time to go to work. For years I had to get up before 6AM since I worked 7:00 – 4:00 (so I could miss rush hour traffic). Now, I have to be at work at 8:00 and I live 45 seconds from my office so I only need to get up at 7:00 or 7:10 and there are some mornings I just can’t do it. I have to have 8 hours sleep or it’s just too hard to get out of bed. I’m also very bad about the snooze button. I’ll smack that thing 10 times if I could (which would make me 90 minutes late but when I’m asleep I don’t care).

Anyway, I’m really bad about oversleeping. When I oversleep – I don’t have time to take a shower so I’ll throw on some jeans, a sweatshirt, and a baseball cap and go to work like that. Nobody comes into my office so nobody sees me so we can wear pretty much whatever we want. However – hubby HATES it when I do this. So, I’ve been making a concerted effort to make sure I get up on time so I have time to fix my hair, make up, dress nicer, etc. Well, I did good this morning and I was walking out the door to go to the office and hubby came up to me and kissed me good bye and said “there’s my pretty wife!” He just totally made my day. He complimented me several times over the day about how nice my hair looked and how pretty I was. Now – if this isn’t motivation to get your tail out of bed on time – I don’t know what is! Maybe I’ll even get lucky tonight 😉

There are a couple grammar things that have been getting on my nerves lately and although I know I can’t do anything about them, I feel the need to vent:

* The abbreviation Ms. used to stand for Mister or Miss. It was used if you didn’t know the sex of the person to whom you were addressing a letter. I don’t know when some nitwit decided to change the meaning to mean Miss or Mrs. – when you didn’t know if the lady was married or not. This happened before I started school which was in 1977/1978 but if I had to guess – it probably got started during the women’s liberation movement. I don’t give a crap if the letter is addressed using my married name or not. I really really wish we would have kept the original meaning as there have been many times when I’ve had to send a letter to a Terry or a Pat and I can’t put anything because I don’t know if they’re male or female. Seems to me it would have been easier if some nincompoop would have jsut left well enough alone.

* When I was in elementary school we were taught that a comma took the place of the word and while listing a group of things. For example, what would have been written “I went to the grocery store and bought milk and eggs and bacon and bread.” could now become “I went to the grocery store and bought milk, eggs, bacon and bread.” However, a couple years ago I was informed by a friend of mine, who held a degree in English, that it was acceptable to list the comma after the last item along with the word and or leave it off. Either way was acceptable. So, it is grammatically correct this way as well “I went to the grocery store and bought milk, eggs, bacon, and bread.” This does not make sense to me. If the comma is supposed to take the place of the word and then you put a comma and the word and – doesn’t it represent and twice? Does this make sense? Does this annoy anyone else?

* Another thing I learned while in elementary school was to properly address an evelope as such:

Jane Doe
123 Any Street
Anytown, US 34567

Now, it’s my understand that because the post office is mostly computerized, they prefer you to list the address like this:

Jane Doe
123 Any Street
ANYTOWN US 34567-8910

There is not supposed to be any punctuation in the last line and they want you to capitalize the entire line. Also – there is never supposed to be anything written under the zip code. I understand why the change in this but it still annoys me.

Are you guys thinking I have entirely too much free time to worry about crap like this?

One response »

Leave a Reply

