Happy Anniversary!

Standard

Today, Hubby and I have been married for 9 years. We aren’t officially going to celebrate until Saturday evening so there’s nothing “special” planned but it’s still our anniversary.

Nine years – wow. It really doesn’t seem like it’s been that long. And, we dated for five years before we even got married so we’ve been together for about 14 years now. I really do still feel like a newlywed. I still get anxious when I know I’m going to see him. When I walk in the house, I look for him so I can kiss him hello. I still think he’s sexy as all get out. Sometimes I look at him (really) and wonder how I ever got so lucky. I’m just so proud to be his wife.

We always kiss each other good night before we go to sleep. It’s the last thing we do each day. I’d love to kiss each other good morning too but morning breath isn’t exactly romantic.

He can make my whole day just by calling me his “pretty wife”. I LOVE being a wife – being that rock for someone else, knowing he can tell me things he can’t tell anyone else on the planet, knowing I have the power to make him have a great day just by telling him how proud I am of him. And it’s not just words either – I really truly mean it and that’s what makes the difference.

I’ve said before that I wouldn’t trade my marriage for any else’s I know. I know I’m not perfect and I know there are some out there who think your husbands are better than mine but here’s what makes it work – he’s perfect for me. I need someone who’s going to stand up to me and not let me get my way all the time (even though that’s what I want). Someone who’s going to keep me from getting too full of myself. Someone who’s going to remind me when I’m getting bossy and not make me feel like a bitch for it but to remind me of my humility. I also need someone who believes I can do anything because that makes me believe in myself. My husband thinks I’m smart and kind and that makes me want to be smarter and more kind. One of my favorite quotes from a movie is when Jack Nicholson says in As Good As it Gets “You make me want to be a better person.” That’s what my husband does to me – makes me try to be the best ME I can possibly be.

I truly believe that God has created a perfect partner for everyone. Some aren’t lucky to find them in their lifetime and some may find many partners with whom they could build a good relationship. I don’t want good; I want GREAT and for that, I really truly thank God every day for sending me my true partner in life.

I love you, Heath. Happy Anniversary!

5 responses »

  1. Congratulations!!!! Isn’t it a wonderful thing being married to someone who loves you, someone to share your life with.

  2. Happy Anniversary, you lovebirds! You know, YOU are an inspiration to me and my marriage, and thank you for that. Have lots of sex tonight! 😛

Leave a Reply

