I’m on the Pill for the First Time in My Life

Standard

I’m 34 years old and have never been on the pill. Hubby and I dated for 5 years before we got married so we didn’t use any birth control after we married because we would have been ready for a baby. Now, we’ve been married 9 years and no babies – looks like that’s just not in God’s plan for us and we’re okay with that. However, there was always this tiny chance that I could be every time I was late. It’s weird now, even though I accepted that we wouldn’t have any children years ago – it was still sort of sad to go on the pill because it made it concrete. I’m very fortunate to have had a child early and how everything has happened since just made me believe that much more that God has a plan for our lives.

When I got pregnant as a teenager I thought my life was over. I thought this couldn’t happen to me and what was I going to do. Well, I did what had to be done. I went to summer school for two summers so I could graduate a year early and get to work. I even worked Coop at my high school the last year I was there so I could work and go to school but still afford to clothe and feed my child. Not much of a fun way to spend your high school years but I did what needed to be done and am proud of what I have accomplished and the beautiful young woman my daughter has become. Would I have ever guessed that it was God’s plan for me to have a child as a teenager because I wouldn’t be able to have one when I was married? Nope. Had I any idea that it was God’s plan for Hubby and I to marry because that would be his only opportunity to be a parent? Nope. God is so much smarter than I am 🙂

Anyway, so 9 years and no pregnancies. My periods have been getting wonky the last several years which is why I abhor that time of the month so vehemently. They could be anywhere from 28 days to 45 days and I never knew when she would show up. It would be very heavy, clotty, and simply a big pain in the ass for almost a week. It was AWFUL!!! I saw my doctor and she discovered that I have low iron (anemia) which could be contributing to my awful periods which, in turn, the heavy flow can make the anemia worse due to increased blood loss. So, she said the easy answer was to go on birth control which would regulate the periods, make them shorter and lighter which would help with the anemia. She also put me on a multi-vitamin that has 150% of the daily iron. They’re horrible horse pills which taste nasty and make my pee flourescent yellow but, they seem to be doing the trick.

I’ve been on the pill for 1 month and my monthly visitor was here on day 29. Wow – that was a delight. On time??? And it’s been so light! It could get heavier but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it doesn’t. Also, I’m on YAZ which only gives you a sugar pill for 4 days so that’s supposed to make your periods shorter than normal anyway.

Keep your fingers crossed that this works for me. One benefit is that YAZ also helps with acne and my skin is SO CLEAR!!! It’s funny too – have you seen the commercials that talk about PMDD – the severe PMS condition? YAZ is supposed to treat that too. I don’t have PMDD but Hubby said I get “hard to deal with” during that time of the month so I think this will help regulate my moods during this time too. So far it hasn’t made me gain any weight so as long as that keeps up, I’m thinking I’ve finally found some relief!

2 responses »

  1. When I was younger, people used to annoy me when they said things happen for a reason. Well, after being alive almost 40 years I see that it’s true. I agree God has a plan for all of us. I have a similar story in that I was able to have one child but couldn’t have a second so we adopted a baby 10 years later. Now, I know all the sadness I felt at the time(before the adoption) was basically a waste of time because God had a plan for us, just not the one that I thought I wanted at the time.

    Your story is beautiful and so is your daughter.

    I was on the Pill for about 10 years and I loved it! Good Luck!

  2. I miss being on the pill. My periods SUCK now compared to what they were on the pill. I could predict when I would start within about a two hour period, and they were always so light. I think you’ll love it! And I didn’t gain weight on the pill, so maybe you won’t either. The Depo Provera shot made me balloon up, though, so stay away from that!

Leave a Reply

