Something Else I Can’t Stand

Standard

In recent years groups have taken to begging in the streets where I live. Let me clarify:

I think it all started with the Shriners who would stand at major intersections selling their newspaper and collecting donations. Anyone who has ever heard of the Shriner’s Hospitals who help thousands of injured children with things like burns and skeletal injuries can understand why they are collecting money. They are a not for profit group and do LOADS to give back to the community – you see them in every parade, helping at children’s homes, etc. I don’t mind them standing with their buckets collecting money and they give you a newspaper and sometimes a piece of fruit. They have my respect and we always donate whenever we see them. However, that’s where it ends.

Near where I live LOADS of other groups have started the practice of begging for money with large buckers at intersections. I’ve seen soccer teams, baseball teams and various other sports teams standing out there in their uniforms to collect money for stuff. I’ve seen cheerleaders and church organizations too. The parents are usually there, standing off to the side, watching their children. Today, I saw two groups of black men, all in slacks and ties, standing at two major intersections with buckets collecting money for what I assume to be a church group because one of them had on a hat that said “I (heart) Jesus.”

Here is why I have a problem with these people. What happened to all the old ways of making money like cheerleader car washes, church bake sales, and other things ball teams and the likes can do to earn money? If you’re a bunch of junior high boys – go around to neighborhoods offering to do yard work or wash people’s windows to EARN what ever money you need to raise. Almost EVERY single time I pass a youth car wash, whether it be for a church, ball team, girl scouts, whatever, I will give them $5 to $10 bucks to wash my car ($5 when I had a little Honda and now $10 or more now that I have an SUV). When I was a cheerleader we sold Krisy Kreme doughnuts on the weekend mornings to our neighbors and we sold LOTS!.

Why are the parents and coaches of these children teaching them that if they want something they should just stand in the street and beg strangers to just give them money? Aren’t there other life lessons that this situation could be used to teach children – like if you want something and you’re willing to go out there and WORK for it – you can have it?

That is why, with the exception of the Shriners, I do not give to the beggars standing at the street corners with buckets asking for my money. This is not a lesson I think people should be teaching our young people. I also think that these groups should be required to have a permit to do this so the city can confirm that they are a legitimate group because I’m not so sure that some of the groups haven’t just been trying to get some dough from me.

So – does this sound like I’m just being witchy? If so – sorry – I’m just being honest.

Also, we’re leaving to go on vacation this afternoon. We’re just going to the mountains for a long weekend so I should be back next Tuesday or Wednesday. Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Oh, and by the way, what do you guys think of the new layout? Like it? Hate it? What about the duck holding the flowers? Got to be honest, I’m not a fan of the duck but I love the new layout and the colors.

3 responses »

  1. Michelle says …
    If I needed to raise money for something then I would try to come up with some sort of “service” to offer the public. Begging for money in the street to help a baseball team is not right.

  2. I like the new look! Although the duck looks kind of sad in an adorable way.
    And as for that kind of fundraising – that’s just nasty!! Have car washes, sell cookies or chocolate or something. But just to stand there and expect people to give you money???? I wouldn’t give them any.

  3. I’m always scared that the random people at intersections aren’t legit, rather just a few people who decided to get together and make a few extra bucks. I never give to them, either, but will give to the shriners and other organizations at the end of the year when I get my bonus.

    I agree about the layout. The colors are very serene, but the duck looks a bit cutesy, and I don’t see what it has to do with romance novels, but maybe I’m missing the point.

Leave a Reply

