This Makes Me SO MAD!!!

Standard
This was on the Yahoo home page today:
“Grey’s Anatomy” star Isaiah Washington said racism was a factor in his firing from the hit ABC series after he twice used an anti-gay slur.
Washington, who initially used the epithet during an onset clash with a co-star, told Newsweek magazine that “someone heard the booming voice of a black man and got really scared and that was the beginning of the end for me.”
He tried to make amends by expressing remorse and volunteering to enter a counseling program to understand how the confrontation got out of hand, he told Newsweek.
“My mistake was believing that I would get the support from my network and all of my cast mates across the board. My mistake was believing I could correct a wrong with honesty and sincerity,” he said in the interview posted online Thursday.
“My mistake was thinking black people get second chances. I was wrong on all fronts,” he said.
His unwillingness to act like a submissive black at work was part of the problem, Washington said.
“Well, it didn’t help me on the set that I was a black man who wasn’t a mush-mouth Negro walking around with his head in his hands all the time. I didn’t speak like I’d just left the plantation and that can be a problem for people sometime,” he said.
“I had a person in human resources tell me after this thing played out that `some people’ were afraid of me around the studio. I asked her why, because I’m a 6-foot-1, black man with dark skin and who doesn’t go around saying `Yessah, massa sir’ and `No sir, massa’ to everyone?
“It’s nuts when your presence alone can just scare people, and that made me a prime candidate to take the heat in a dysfunctional family,” he said.
ABC declined comment Thursday. In its one public statement regarding Washington, issued in January, the network said his actions were “unacceptable.”
Washington, who used the slur against co-star T.R. Knight during a confrontation with Patrick Dempsey, repeated the word backstage at the Golden Globes in January in denying the first incident. A public apology to Knight and others followed.
I COULD NOT DISAGREE MORE!!! Notice how he reported what HE said to the HR person, not what the HR person responded. If he’s willing to call a collegue names and push another collegue – I’d be scared of him too and it has nothing to do with his race!
Who says black people don’t get second chances? Who says people are afraid of black men with booming voices? Who started any of this race shit except for HIM!!!
Here’s the thing that REALLY makes me mad about this whole situation: that cast is very physically diverse; they have super short people, black people, white people, Asian people, tall people, etc. They have a black man in the role as Head Chief – the gand pooba of the hospital. If this show does anything, it shows that race has nothing to do with what you can accomplish. Oh, and by the way, the creater and head writer of Grey’s Anatomy is Shonda Rhimes. Here’s her picture:

I don’t believe for one freakin’ second that his firing had anything to do with anything but his loud ass mouth and his own stupid actions and physical altercation of one cast member and disparaging remarks against another cast member. If someone I worked with treated me how he treated either of these persons I’d demand he was fired too. This has nothing to do with race and I think he should be ashamed of himself for trying to play that lame-ass card instead of taking responsibility for his actions.

What would happen if one of the white women on the show had done that and then accused the show of firing her for race? She would have been laughed at and no news media would have even reported it for it would be too ludicris. But, because this guy is black, it has to do with his race???

Whatever, asshole. I won’t miss you and I love that show.

3 responses »

  1. I wondered if he was going to get fired with the way the season ended. It’s his own ignorance that got him fired and he can’t blame that on anyone else ~ although it looks like he sure is trying. It’s too bad too, because I liked Preston Burke ~ I just don’t care much for Isaah Washington.

Leave a Reply

