Remembering Sept. 11

Standard

This morning this: http://news.yahoo.com/s/csm/20070910/ts_csm/adogood greeted me on the yahoo home page. Wow – what a fantastic idea! Of course, this is a solemn day for many people, but that doesn’t do anything. I love this idea to turn the remembrance of this day into something great. Turn around the memories of that horrible tragedy and make it something positive. Try to make a difference in someone’s life, no matter how small, rather than just being sad. This is a movement I can embrace!

So, what am I going to do today? Actually, I’m not sure yet. I figure God will reveal things to me all day – ways I can do something nice for someone. It may only be a smile or something bigger but I’m going to keep my eyes open for different things.

This morning I was in the drive-through at McDonald’s and paid for the car behind me’s breakfast. I told the woman at the window to tell her to do something nice for someone else today to remember Sept. 11th. I watched her break into a huge smile when the woman told her. It made MY day!

So, here’s a challenge for all our blog readers: Do something nice today. It may be just a smile, or pick something up for someone who may have dropped it – it doesn’t matter what it is really and it certainly doesn’t have to cost anything – just look for ways to go out of your way to be nice. THEN – come back and comment and tell us what you did.

One response »

  1. I was thinking of doing that while running an errand at lunch, but I didn’t go through the drive-thru. That makes me want to just so I can spread the word today! How neat.

    We’re doing a bible study at work, and I bought everyone’s materials for them (though they’re paying me back). At least they don’t have to go to the trouble of going to the store, now.

Leave a Reply

