Standard

Wow – have we been very bad bloggers lately, or what? I can go into an extremely long list of things that have been keeping me super busy but you guys probably don’t really care about any of that so, how about we just chat, okay?

Sabrina Bryant was kicked off Dancing with the Stars last night. I had never heard of her before she was on the show but she was one of the best, if not THE best. Everyone was shocked when she was eliminated, including myself. The poor thing looked like she was going to cry – I felt so badly for her. It was really a shame. I know they have a lot of fans, and personally I like both of them as well, but the bottom two really should have been Jane Seymour and Marie Osmond. They’re very lovely people – Marie is so nice and funny and Jane is so classy and elegant but they aren’t the best dancers and their time has come to leave the show. After that, I think Jennie Garth needs to go home. That would leave Mel, Helio and Cameron. At this point, I’m pulling for Cameron – what a nice guy!!! I tried posting a pic of him but it’s not working for some reason so you can check him out here:
http://abc.go.com/primetime/dancingwiththestars/index?pn=bio#t=star&d=23285
He reminds me of my husband!

The Amazing Race premieres this weekend. It wasn’t supposed to come back until Janaury but they cancelled another show and decided to bring it back early. It’s one of my favorites so I can’t wait!

Halloween (and VALEEN’S BIRTHDAY) is today. I like Halloween – it’s just a fun time for the kids. I dressed up as a witch today. My sister bought me an elegant green witch hat with black feathers and stuff on it. I have a cape too and I got green striped socks that are the same color as my hat. I’ve gone into Shoney’s, Target and the bank and have gotten some funny looks but it’s put me in a very good mood for the day so I really can’t complain. Did any of you dress up for Halloween? What?

Hubby and I are remodeling our kitchen so we’ve had to scrap our annual fall trip to the beach. I’m bummed but the week of vacation I had set aside I’m now splitting up between Thanksgiving and Christmas. I get to take the whole week of Thanksgiving off which I’ve never done before. We’re going to my mom’s house the weekend before for our family dinner so I really have very few plans for that week. It should be nice to lounge around the house, scrapbook, shoot some pictures, read, and watch tv for a week. I should be well rested when I return. I’m using the rest of my vacation between Christmas and New Year. I should be off from December 20 till January 2nd. I love being off that long and just hanging out with the family.

My daughter is going to Cancun Mexico with her boyfriend and his parents from Jan. 2 through the 7th. They’re paying her way and all she needs is spending money (it was a gift for her boyfriend’s bithday from his parents). I’m not too worried because all 4 of them are staying in the same hotel suite and my daughter is sharing a bed with his mom so I don’t think they’re going to be doing a whole lot of anything they aren’t supposed to. However, the legal drinking age in Mexico is 18 and the cost of all the drinks is included in the resort. Since I try to live in reality and know that my daughter is leaving for college next fall and it’s inevitable that she’s going to have a drink or two while she’s there (that’s all I can handle thinking of at this point) I’ve told her she can have no more than 2 on any day. It’s legal and I know she’s going to be responsible (especially given that she’s with his parents the whole time) and I trust her. I don’t like it and really hope she thinks it’s nasty though 🙂

We did all the paperwork for my BABY to go to college next fall. It’s kind of surreal. I’m so excited for her and I know she’s going to have a blast but at the same time it will be weird that she won’t live with me anymore. 19 years she’s been with me pretty much every day and all of a sudden she’ll be gone. Most of me is looking forward to it though. I’ve been responsible every day for another person for 19 years and, I have to be honest, it’s going to be nice to have some independence. I think God makes teenagers so busy and have so many friends and busy social lives to make it easier on the parents for when they leave. A friend of mine told me recently that the guidance counselor at her son’s school told her the last 6 – 9 months their senior children live with them they won’t like each other very much. We’ve not felt any of that in our house and I’m very grateful.

Well, I actually have several things on which I could continue to ramble but I think I’ll save it for another day. Bye!

2 responses »

  1. okay lets try this again (I don’t know why my comments only seem to post half the time – I’m sure it’s user error).

    Really… it’s time to update the blog. Its been almost 2 months and that’s even worse than me. 😉 Tell us about the kitchen remodel and show us some pics of the new appiances and island! 🙂

Leave a Reply

