Dentist

Standard

I went to the dentist today for my 6 month cleaning and check up.  This may not seem like a big deal to most of you as you’ve probably been doing it for most of your entire life.  However, I’ll let you in on a little secret…  I’ve only been going to the dentist for about 15 years.  Eeek!  I know.

See, my mother had horrible teeth growing up and apparently one of the only dentists in her little town (if not THE only dentist) was terrible.  Her enduring this throughout her youth did no good anyway and she had full dentures in her 30’s.  My older sister didn’t have much better luck so I think my mom got fed up. When we were kids, we didn’t go to the doctor unless something was wrong with us.  I never had any problems with my mouth or teeth so she never took us. 

Well, when my daughter was a toddler, I knew I was supposed to take her to the dentist and decided that I couldn’t, in good conscience, make her go if I wasn’t going too.  So, off we went, my probably 3 or 4 year old and my 20 year old self – both off to see the dentist for the first time in our lives.

I was SO nervous!  I had no idea what to expect.  They could tell me I had 20 cavities and needed for root canals for all I knew.  I walked in and was totally at their mercy.  I brushed my teeth every day but I didn’t floss (still don’t – sshhhh) and I didn’t brush 3 times a day so no telling what I was in for.   Guess what – I had 1 cavity.  That was it!!!!  I could not have been more shocked.

Apparently, I had been blessed with extremely healthy teeth.  Now, they are far from straight but not so crooked that when you look at me you immediately notice or anything.  Of course, if you didn’t go to the dentist before the age of 20 you certainly never got braces.  I could get them now and probably would if they weren’t so expensive but insurance won’t cover it at age 35 since they work properly and it would be considered totally cosmetic.  S

So, 15 years later and I’ve still only had 1 cavity in my whole life.  Want to know the funniest part?  Every time I  go to the dentist (which, ironically is every 6 months like clock work now!) the dentist tells me how wonderfully beautiful and healthy my teeth are.  Ain’t that something! 

One response »

  1. Sedation Dentistry is the way to go. Take it someone who knows. I have had over $25000.00 worth of dental work done.
    This is what I have learned:
    1. Never make a dentist appt before the bar opens
    2. Never do today what can be put off till tomorrow.
    3. Never tell the dentist that you don’t have insurance… The bill will triple.
    4. Never wear a shirt with cleavage to the dentist. It ensures that your teeth do NOT have his full attention.
    5. Laser whitening DOES do wonders!
    6. Why be awake when they can knock you out.
    7. Never use a dentist who doesn’t use Nitrous!

    Chompers Scoby

Leave a Reply

