I got the fever, baby!

Standard

Oh my goodness.  My husband and I have two large life events coming up in 2008.  #1-We plan to have a baby, and #2-we plan to sell our house and possibly build another one. So I have baby and house fever all at once and need to get it off my chest. That’s where you come in. You need to read and comment. I need your thoughts and/or input. Prove to me that other people actually read this blog.

#1-If you know me, you may know that I am considered to be infertile. I am 30 years old and have the eggs of an older woman. We have been trying to conceive since 2005 and have undergone two unsuccessful procedures. However, there is a fairly new procedure that few fertility clinics are performing (hold on…my husband is running through the house naked…) Okay, anyway, the procedure is called fallopian tube sperm perfusion. I begins with me injecting myself with hormones for about a week and a half so I’ll produce a bunch of eggs. When the special, oh-so-romantic time comes, the doctor will give me a shot to make me ovulate all those eggs. Then he will use a catheter to release sperm into my fallopian tubes. So the little swimmers will be treading water…or treading something…until my eggs release. They don’t even have to work. They’re right there. Lazy asses. 🙂

#2-So we want to sell our house this spring and build a new one to be moved into by the fall, when I will deliver our baby, hopefully. We went to the neighborhood to look at a couple of houses today, and I can’t get it off my mind! Ever since we left, I’ve been mentally decorating – imagining what light fixtures I’ll use, where I’ll put our piano, what colors we’ll paint, what furniture we’ll buy. All that stuff. The master bath has a shower stall and separate tub, but we want to get rid of the tub altogether and have one large shower with two showerheads – one for each of us. Mmm hmm…bow chika bow bow…you know what I’m getting at. Hmmmmm, so now I’m going to page through a stack of magazines to tear out pages for decorating ideas. Hopefully I’ll have more to post on both topics after another month or so. 

By the way, maybe I should comment on a topic that is more relevant to our blog. I’m actually reading a book! It is The Road by Cormac McCarthy. So far, the slow-moving story is about a father and his son, who are walking miles and miles, presumably in the eastern U.S., trying to reach the coast. Everything along the way has been burned, and they are two of the few people left in the area. So I’m not quite sure what has happened but, though it’s slow so far, it’s also intriguing. I’ll let you know later if it’s worth the read. Sorry it’s not a romance novel!

I’m off to watch the puppy bowl on Animal Planet (yes, I’m a dorky loser) and then the Super Bowl. I’ll end this post with a quote I like that came from a fortune cookie: It is better to be 80 years young than to be 40 years old. Have a great week!

-Kelli

2 responses »

  1. You are cracking me up, you sex starved hussy. I’ll be keeping you guys in my prayers that this new procedure works.

    You guys aren’t the only ones who have new house fever. Hubby is getting really serious about us building as well. It will probably be in 1 to 2 years but we’re going to start looking at some options.

    The book you’re reading sounds weird. That doesn’t really surprise me though 🙂

  2. I hope that everything works out for you! Baby or no baby, it seems that you and your husband are very happy together no matter who comes along. Just keep this in mind… If you end up without a baby…
    You can get a house that is twice the size!!!!!

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

