Ahhh, freakout!

Standard

Echoing Jennifer’s previous post, I’m sorry about the lack of posting, also. I’ve been busy at work and home, so it’s been difficult to find the time. As I mentioned in a previous post, we are hoping to sell our house this spring. We had a realtor come out last week to give us his thoughts, and he seems to think that it will take 4-6 months to sell. The market isn’t that hot for sellers, as I’m sure you know. But the kicker is that he wants to put it on the market by March 1st! That’s only 17 days away! So now I’m in home repair/cleaning/staging freakout mode to try to get it ready. We still have so much to do, including tiling our master bath, which is no small task. The home staging part is what’s fun to me, though. What a good job that would be. This website has been helpful to me, as it’s a message board for home stagers and has before and after pics. Do you have any helpful hints as far as selling a house? This is the first time we’ve this, so anything you’d like to share would be truly appreciated!

I learned to knit a couple of years ago and have knitted countless scarves and a few other things. You can subscribe to the Lion Brand yarn newsletter and catalog to get ideas each month. When I page through the catalog and dogear pages for the most beautiful afghans and sweaters, they’re all crocheted! So I think I’m going to have to add crocheting to my list of talents, because knitting isn’t really cutting it for me anymore. My grandmother taught me to crochet when I was young, so hopefully it’ll be like riding a bike.

Something has been weighing heavily on me. My parents never seem to call and hardly ever come up to visit. They live about 85 miles away, and I go down there at least once a month. I’m usually the one to call them once a week or so, but they never call. So I’m going to stop calling and making any contact and see how long they go. I know people lead busy lives, but it just bothers me.

I’m going to start ending my posts with a quote each time. This is one of my favorite bible verses: Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us. -1 John 4:11-12

 -Kelli

3 responses »

  1. Thanks to your post title I can’t get that song out of my head – thanks a lot!

    My dad lives quite a long way away from me. It used to really bother me a lot that he never called. It made me feel like he didn’t care. My husband has lost both his parents and told me several years ago that one day he’ll be gone and I need to make sure I call him at least once a month. I didn’t feel I should always have to call him – he’s the parent, he should call me. Hubby reminded me that one day, he’ll be gone and it shouldn’t matter who dials the phone – as long as I talk with him. I realized my dad is just a bad caller and it doesn’t mean he doesn’t love me. I made myself call him once a month starting a couple years ago. He moved away when I was 13 so it was awkward at first as we didn’t really have a whole lot to say. However, after a couple moths, things really got better and now we can talk for an hour non-stop.

    I know it probably hurts your feelings that they don’t make the effort but, in the long run, isn’t it more important that you talk and maintain the relationship rather than focusing on who’s picking up the phone first?

  2. If you have a roommate, and you’re always the one to wash both of your dishes, wouldn’t you get tired of that? That’s kind of how I feel. I don’t mind picking up the phone to call, but I guess the root of my concern is WHY they don’t feel the need to call and visit more. It’s probably a case of me overthinking things, as I tend to do, but I wish they would take 5 minutes out of their week to just call and check in. How hard is that? Sorry if I sound lazy or like a spoiled brat, but I can’t help how I feel!

  3. I know you posted this a while back but I am going to comment anyway. This is Jennifer’s little sister by the way. I do sympathize and understand your feelings like Jen said our dad moved away in my case when I ws 10 and I have a hard time talking with him because unlike her I haven’t picked up the phopne once a month. I have a four year old and am a single mom now and between house work and ball practice and I jsut don’t seem to have the time to breath much less be thoughful.

    My question is have you takled to them about it? I learned a while back that if something is bothering us but we don’t share it then we are asking for it to continue. What I mean by this is we can not expect others to be able to read our minds. Maybe they don’t call or visit because you make it easy on them and they have grown to expect that you will call. If you stop then maybe it will hurt their feelings or think you are mad at them for some reason.

    A precedence has been set and unless you tell them how you feel you can not expect them to know or change.

Leave a Reply

