Shish-kabobs

Standard

Funny title, huh?  I like that word, shish-kabob, actually.  It’s a fun word.  Anyway, I decided I wanted to make them for dinner last night and went to www.allrecipes.com to see if I could find some different stuff to try on them.  Well, guess what?  They show it spelled as sheis-kabob.  Who knew?  I guess it’s just one more example of how we Americans and made things easier for our lazy selves.  Having the phonetic “shish-kabob” is infinitely easier than the harder to remember sheis-kabob I guess.

 Anyway (I’m chatty again today, sorry), we had to go to the grocery before I could start cooking so we didn’t end up eating until about 8pm.  For my shish-kabobs I did chicken, mushrooms, onions, red peppers, green peppers, broccoli and squash.  I put each ingredient on separate skewers so you can take them off and put them on at different times because everyone knows that broccoli will shrivel to an unidentifiable crisp long before the chicken is cooked through or the onions are soft. Now, those that know me fairly well are probably thinking that’s it’s also because I don’t want any gross peppers touching anything I may eat and you would also be correct.

On my shish-kabobs, we make our own marinade.  It’s about 1 part regular BBQ sauce, 1/2 part plain yellow mustard, mixed with 1/3 part Dale’s meat marinade and 1 tbsp steak seasoning.  Mix all together and spread over veggies and meat and continue to baste as it’s grilling.  Kind of salty but really good. 

I didn’t put any cherry tomatoes on the “bobs” as I tried a new recipe for those I got from Paula Dean on the Food Network.  Take some medium size tomatoes and cut in half.  Place them cut side down on grill for 3 to 5 minutes.  While those are grilling, saute’ 2 to 3 cloves of minced garlic in 3 tbsp olive oil.  When you flip the tomatoes, spoon the garlic and oil mixture over the top, shut the grill top, and leave on there for 3 to 5 more minutes.  Remove from grill and sprinkle with parmesan cheese. 

Tonight I’m either going to make stir-fry (so I can use up the rest of the cut veggies I prepared last night so I didn’t have to do all that washing and chopping again) or “Pizzagna” which is a recipe I got from Rachel Ray.  It’s really just spiral noodles with whatever pizza toppings you normally like (we’ll use Italian sausage, mushrooms, onions, garlic, and turkey pepperoni) with some ricotta cheese, mozzarella, and diced tomatoes all baked off in the oven.   I’ve never made it before so I’ll let you know how it was.  Oh, I’m also going to make some parmesan crusted bread twists.  I got those from Giada de Laurentiis where she takes regular bread sticks and rolls them in grated parmesan cheese and garlic before she bakes them.  I got the Pillsbury garlic parmesan sticks in the tube so all I have to do is roll them in the parmesan cheese before I bake them.  Hope they’re good.

 So, what are you making for dinner?

Jennifer

4 responses »

  1. Yum…garlic parmesan sticks….delicious. We had home-made lasagna last night, and we’ll probably have a pizza tonight. The second of two realtors is coming out tonight to look at the house!

  2. Yeah, we’re pretty excited! We’re not going to start the building process until our house is sold, so it will be several months. Hopefully our house sells faster than we think so that we can go ahead and start building.

  3. too funny as I made shisk-kebobs for the first time ever the other night. Only I made mine with chicken, peppers and onion with an olive oil and lemon marinade. REALLY good – except they got quite charcoalled on the bbq.

Leave a Reply

