Fifty Acres and a Poodle

Standard

Something people may not know about me is that I grew up way out in the country. We lived so far out that, if we needed groceries, my mom would have to “go to town” to get them…not just, “I’m running to the grocery.” There really weren’t any other kids my age who lived near me and, even if they did, it wouldn’t have been within walking distance or anything. Needless to say, I spent lots of time outside, living in my own imagination. I think that’s what makes me the weirdo I am today! 😉 When I graduated high school, I got a scholarship to a large public university, and I could not wait to move to a bigger city. The older I get, though, the more I miss country living. Even the smell of cow shit drums up wistful, nostalgic feelings, if you can believe that. I’d really like to move back out to the country one day.

Knowing that, it should come as no surprise that I fell in love with a book about moving from the city to the country: Fifty Acres and a Poodle: A Story of Love, Livestock, and Finding Myself on a Farm. It’s about a woman in her late-30’s who, like me, grew up around barns, animals and beautiful countryside, but who left it to pursue her career in Pittsburgh. She and her long-time friend, Alex, (who owns a poodle–a standard poodle, not one of those yippy things) discover that their friendship is growing into something more serious. So they finally end up buying a farm in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania. The story follows the hijinks that ensue when these city dwellers try to become acclimated to the country life – new neighbors, new cultural mores, new animals and problem after problem…or maybe I should say learning opportunity after learning opportunity. It’s such a good read. I constantly found myself chuckling aloud and reading passages to my husband. It is highly recommended, if you’re looking for a feel-good book. 

So now I’m looking for more books to read, now that I have time. Jennifer so graciously gave me Eat, Pray, Love, and it’s next on my list after book about a woman who got pregnant after a long bout with infertility (I need all the inspiration I can get in that department). So please share any good books you’ve read! 

~Kelli

Leave a Reply

