I Think I’m Almost Brain Dead…

Standard

I had 4 books with reviews that were due yesterday so I’ve been on a reading marathon all weekend.  I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned on here before but Valeen (one of the other bloggers) and I both review romance novels for www.romancereadersconnection.com

Anyway, we have reviews due twice a month.  Some deadlines I may have one or no reviews due and (like this time) I may have several.   I normally don’t have to actually read so many right before the deadline but I got hung up on a book I didn’t like.  That’s one of the only bad things about reading books to review – you have to actually read the whole thing in order to write the review – whether you like the book or not.  Needless to say, I didn’t like this book.  There were several plot elements that just didn’t set well with me. That made it really hard to keep chugging along when all I really wanted to do was throw it against the wall!

So, as of Friday night, I had 4 reviews due and I still had to finish one book and start and finish 3 others.  I came really close.  I finally finished the horrid book Friday night, started and finished two other books yesterday, started and finished 1 book today and started another this evening.  Yes, I did a really short one in the middle that technically isn’t due until the 25th but I needed a different genre to mix things up a bit.  When I’m reading so many books back to back, I like to mix up an historical, then a contemporary book, then perhaps an “ultimate” (romantica – a romance book heavy on the sex but with the central story line revolving around a committed couple who should get a “Happily Ever After”). Otherwise the storylines and characters start to run together.

In all, I’m not really sure how many hours I’ve read in the last 3 days.  I didn’t get one last book reviewed on time but I’m working on it.  It’s a good book at least so that REALLY helps.

So – what did YOU do this weekend?

Jennifer

 

3 responses »

  1. wow. that’s a lot of books for 3 days. as for me, i read one book (the color purple) for the weekend. i’m a slow reader. 🙂

  2. I finished a book up, but was almost done anyway. I don’t seem to have a lot of reading time lately. I’m also way behind on my TV watching, so that consumed some time. I’ve got to cut a show or two BUT some of my shows are ending for the season so that will help! It’s crazy trying to fit everything you want to do into 2 days off – we need to patition the country for 3 day weekends!

Leave a Reply

