Today isn’t a good day :(

Standard

Let me start out by saying that I have a great job.  I work for a company who let me open an office very near my house and they pay me an excellent salary.  I really like my job and I am grateful for it.  Today, more so than yesterday.  The recent credit crunch and lending crisis has greatly affected my company since we do sort of like loans for people. 

Well, I was told this morning that every department had to cut one position.  That’s pretty tough to do when you only have three people in a department. Both of my employees were ranked even based on performance so we had to do it by tenure alone.  Sadly, a family friend whom I’ve known for almost 20 years who has worked for me for the last 20 months had to be let go this morning – by me.  He took it with the utmost grace and dignity and I feel terribly about it.

It’s easy to get angry and ask why such a bad thing would happen to such a nice guy, and right before Christmas too.  But – I believe GOD has a plan for everyone and there are better things in store for him.

Tim – we will miss you and don’t know what we’ll do without your smiling face to greet us each day. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

