I Don’t Qualify as a Cheapskate

Standard

I was really starting think of myself as a cheapskate.  Of this I was actually quite proud.  That was until I was flipping through Woman’s Day magazine and came across these “Reuse It” tips:

* Re-purpose cereal box liner bags as wax paper for wrapping sandwiches.

* Use a scratched CD or DVD to the back of a child’s bike as extra safety reflectors.

Seriously???  Are you really so cheap as to dig out the waxy bag, after you’ve eaten all the cereal, wash it and then deconstruct it all so you can wrap 1 lousy sandwich?  How much is a square of wax paper after all?  1 cent?  I don’t even know anyone who still uses wax paper to wrap their sandwiches in.  I usually use a ziplock bag.  That is, of course, if I could remember the last time I packed a lunch. I live very close to where I work so I just go home to eat lunch most days.

Oh – and PLEASE, I’m begging you, don’t be THAT PARENTthat makes their kid ride a bike, not only with a helmet, knee and elbow pads, but 6 scratched CD’s dangling off their bike and sewn onto the back of their jacket.  You will make another, non dorky kid, beat the crap out of them and it will totally be your fault.  You have been warned.

One response »

  1. LOL- I totally agree about some things being a bigger time suck (time is money) than a savings in the long run. Plus, the image of a kid covered in old CD’s is just to much! Love it!

Leave a Reply

