Perez being catty?

Standard

KateySue left this comment yesterday:

I think you should discuss how that brat Perez Hilton asked the poor Ms. American candidates about gay marriage and because he didn’t like the comment by one of the contestants – that she thought marriage should only be between a man and a woman – he immediately wrote her off. To each his own on this (I agree with her by the way but am okay with civil unions), but what happened to acceptance of all people – oh I forgot – she was against his views! The other girl’s answer was just fine since the media has decided that’s the acceptable answer – THAT IS MY BIGGEST BUTTON these days! If you’re going to say we accept all people, then do it or don’t say that and admit you have the same tendencies as those who disagree with you! Whew I feel better!

For those that don’t know, Perez Hilton (the Gossip Blogger) was a judge on the Miss USA pagent.  Here’s what happened:

“Hilton asked Miss CA : ‘Vermont recently became the fourth state to legalise same-sex marriage. Do you think every state should follow suit. Why or why not?’

Miss California Carrie Prejean paused for a moment before replying: ‘Well, I think it’s great that Americans are able to choose one or the other. We live in a land where you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite marriage.’ She continued: ‘And you know what, in my country, in my family, I think that I believe that a marriage should be between a man and a woman. No offense to anybody out there, but that’s how I was raised and that’s how I think it  should be – between a man and a woman. Thank you very much.’

Unimpressed to say the least, Hilton promptly described Prejean as a ‘dumb bitch’ on his blog. He went on to describe her as having ‘half a brain’ and said he would have stormed onto the stage and ripped off her tiara if she had won. There was speculation that the reply had cost her the Miss USA crown, as she was named runner-up with Miss North Carolina, Kristen Dalton, winning the title.

Well – what do you think?  I think it’s funny that Perez and other liberals act like every American is required to accept alternative lifestyles and everything else but THEY can’t accept that we have a different opinion. They’re allowed to say that we only have “half a brain” because we don’t agree with them?  Really?  Just because I have a different opinion does not mean I’m an idiot. It just means that I think differently than you.  You know what else?  MOST AMERICANS AGREE WITH ME! There have been many states (including CA which is where Perez lives) that have voted on the marriage issue and most states have voted it down. Which means MORE THAN HALF THE PEOPLE IN THOSE STATES AGREE THAT MARRIAGE SHOULD BE BETWEEN A MAN AND A WOMAN!  That means this is the most popular opinion! 

Personally, I agree with KateySue. I’m all for “Civil Unions” so all people can have medical privileges, inherit property, share health care benefits, etc. However, a “marriage” as described in the Bible is a vow before God between a man and a woman.  I read somewhere that it says it’s between “Adam and Eve not Adam and Steve”.  I agree with this.  You can have partnerships and all the legal protections that entails but if it’s a vow before God, don’t call it a marriage because in the bible that depicts God’s word that I’m familiar with, doesn’t recognize a “marriage” between Steve and Steve.

Some people may think this is splitting hairs and it really kind of is. But to me, a “marriage” is definitely more than a piece of paper because of the religious beliefs involved.  If you take that out and you want legal protection – you can have that for all people regardless of the religious aspect, with partnerships/unions or whatever else you want to call them.

I know this is a hot-button issue and there are some readers who will probably disagree with me and I invite all of you to post your comments.

One response »

  1. Well, I’m sad to see that no one else commented on this but I have to say that I couldn’t have said this any better! Our world is so screwed up trying to please everyone that we don’t have any standards as a nation anymore and when you try to as an individual you are a biggot, stupid or worse to those.

Leave a Reply

