Fall TV is Back!

Standard

As a TV junkie, I simply love this time of year.  All my favorites are back!  Woo-hoo!!!  I’ll take one show at a time so as not to overwhelm all my readers. In the coming weeks I’ll be discussing:

  • Dancing with the Stars
  • Survivor
  • Dexter
  • Amazing Race
  • Grey’s Anatomy
  • The Office
  • Modern Family
  • Anything else I decide to inflict upon you 🙂

First Up, Dancing with the Stars. Anytime I’m watching this one and Hubby asks, “What are you watching?”, I always respond in a grand, very poor British accent, “Daaaaaancing with the Staaaaaaaaaaars!” in the same vein as the announcer on the show. I get my kicks from some very weird things, huh?  So, here’s my rundown of the “celebrities” for this year, as well as the professionals and other people on that show:

Carmen Carter – Most of you probably don’t know who this is.  I confess, I didn’t know her name until a couple minutes ago after an exhaustive internet search to find it. However, you DO probably know her if you watch this show.  It’s this chick:

If you have never noticed, she is one of the singers in the house band and in EVERY episode she wears some rhinestone monstrosity on her head. I just found out she is now selling them on her website!  Anyone need a Halloween costume?

Okay, on to the dancers:

Aaron Carter and Karina Smirnoff  –

I can’t believe they put him in a GREEN tuxedo with tails last night.  To make matters worse, he danced to the theme from The Muppet Show. Surely they haven’t run out of songs already. I can think of no other reason why the producers would be reduced to using that song on a ballroom dancing show. It was just plain stupid. That said, Aaron did extremely well. For some reason though, I don’t like him.  Perhaps it’s his ego? I really can’t put my finger on it.  His hair is terrible and he looks like he needs to gain some weight.  He’s too thin. He sort of looks like he’s a drug addict. Perhaps it’s that he’s paired with Karina. I’ve never liked her.

Natalie Coughlin and Alec Mazo –

I really don’t know much of anything about her except she’s an Olympic swimmer. I think she could be very good but she needs to practice. I like her. There is one thing about Alec though. He has the smallest eyes of anyone I’ve ever seen. Look at the picture above – hers are 3 times as big as his are and it’s not just the make-up. He has tiny little beady eyes and a really small mouth as well. Weird, huh?

Mark Decascos and Lacey Schwimmer –

First off – who knew he was in such good shape?!? He’s always sitting down and wearing a suit on Iron Chef so I had no idea. I adore Lacy so I’m really pulling for this couple. Last night they did a very good job and I thought their scores were fair. I think they’re definitely the underdog team but I love watching them dance. And, how terrific is Lacey? I think she’s the most under-used dancer on this show. Come on, let her dance a couple of the professional dances and give Karina and Cheryl a break. I’m tired of looking at them anyway.

Tom DeLay and Cheryl Burke

Honestly, they don’t stand a chance and should really have gone home last night. He can barely do the waltz but the Latin dances? Ugh – they’re just painful to even watch.  See this man’s butt? See how it is flat? You can’t shake what you don’t have. Don’t even get me started on Cheryl. She’s had more than her fair share of really good dancers and I’m glad she has a dud this year.  Bye!

Macy Gray and Jonathan Roberts

Talk about TACKY!  Wow – I never liked this chick but this took the cake. While dull Samantha Harris was interviewing Macy about her first time dancing on live tv she said it was something akin to “popping my cherry”.  Yes, she actually said that live on TV. Classy, no?  Por Jonathan Roberts.  He always gets the crappy partners and leaves early every season. He seems like such a nice guy and it’s far past time that he has a partner who has a chance at actually winning the competition. Hasn’t he paid his dues already?

Ashley Hamilton and Edyta Sliwinska

He was terrible and deserved to go home. It wasn’t that he was old or out of shape even – he simply couldn’t dance. He was probably the least “celebrity” of them all.  Basically, the only thing famous about him is his dad. Edyta has THE BEST body of any woman I’ve ever seen. I don’t mean that in a sexual way – I mean that she’s in the best shape possible. Simply amazing! Oh, and she’s married to that guy with the tiny eyes!

Melissa Joan Hart and Mark Ballas

Again, they’re using the term “celebrity” loosely with this one. She hasn’t been “famous” since she left the Disney Channel and it’s doubtful she was really famous then. As far as her dancing – she should be better. She’s young and in good shape and she’s just not very good. Mark has had some good ones in the past and some duds so they’ve been pretty fair with him. I don’t predict she’ll make it very long.

Kathy Ireland and Tony Dovolani

She left last night instead of Tom. She wasn’t bad but not as good as I thought she’d be.  She has aged a lot since her modeling days but she’s got to be close to 50 now so of course she’s aged. Tony seems like a really nice guy and a good teacher.

Michael Irvin and Anna Demidova

 

Michael isn’t doing as well as former football players have done in the past. I think he’ll be around a couple weeks but then he’ll likely be gone and probably rightly so. Her? Well, this is her first year and I felt badly for Michael the first week because of her. I absolutely agreed with the judges when they got on to her for not putting enough content in his dance. He barely did any cha cha cha moves during his cha cha. They were right on.

Joanna Krupa and Derek Hough

I don’t like her. I think she isn’t as pretty as she thinks she is. She was bad-mouthing Max even before the season started. Unfortunately, she IS one of the best dancers on this season and will likely go far if not win altogether. I still don’t like her.  Derek seems like he is a likeable guy and is a very good teacher and choreographer so good for him.

Chuck Liddell and Anna Trebunskaya

This guy is just scary. His face is always so serious and FIERCE. Of course that makes sense since he’s a fighter but WOW is he fierce on the dance floor.  Unfortunately, he isn’t that good a dancer so I don’t think we’ll have to worry about it for long. Anna never seems to get a good partner and, unfortunately, this year doesn’t appear to be any different.

Debi Mazar and Maksim Chmerkovskiy

She is so interesting. I’ve always thought she was interesting.  Her look is so different. Those ice blue eyes and that dark hair. I was telling someone about her the other night who didn’t know her by name and then she said, “Is that the lady who looks like a 1940’s Barbie?” That is exactly what she looks like! I thought it was a very good description. She isn’t a bad dancer but she’s in the middle of the pack right now. She could go up or down. I’m interested to see what happens. Max is always fun to watch. He’s so arrogant but likable at the same time. I am SSSOOO happy he and Karina broke up! He deserves better but that lady has to be sassy 🙂

Mya and Dmitry Chaplin

I don’t really know who this chick is other than a pop singer. I don’t know a single song that she has. I also think it’s laughable that she uses only one  name. that being said, she’s probably the best dancer so far. Her jive  routine this week was fantastic (other than the song lyrics which were trashy). I predict she’ll be in the finals if enough people keep voting for her. Dmitry I’m really not familiar with but he seems to be doing some great choreography.

Kelly Osbourne and Louis Van Amstel

Funny thing about her, I’m really pulling for her to do well. It seems to be so important to her which is oddly appealing. She did WAY better than I anticipated the first week and, although she was greatly disappointed, I thought she did pretty well this week as well. Louis doesn’t get enough credit,  there is something weird about him but he’s really good at choreographer and seems to be a very good teacher. I’m pulling for them.

Donny Osmond and Kym Johnson

This is probably going to be the team that wins this season. You gotta give this guy credit – he’s 51 years old and look how high this Mormon can kick! That’s pretty impressive. Kym always seems to get the old guys and has never made it far because of it but this time she has a real chance. She seems so sweet too. His dance this week was one of the most entertaining of the entire night.

Louie Vito and Chelsie Hightower

Most people probably don’t know who this is. I didn’t. He’s a champion snow-boarder and he said he’s probably 5’5″ on his good days so he’s a little-bitty guy. He and Chelsey are the youngest team this season which usually is an edge – but not this year. Personally, and I don’t know that this is true but he could be doing sssooooo much better. Perhaps he needs to practice more. I can’t think of any other reason why he isn’t better than he is. Chelsey is cute and seems likable.

One of the highlights of each show, for me, is Tom Bergeron. He is so funny! On the other hand, Samantha Harris is so dull and he “jokes” fall flat. She is never funny. The backstage interviews are terrible. When Drew Lachet filled in her for while she had a baby he did 10 times better than she does.  Ick.

So – there’s my take on the cast this year. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

