Don’t like naked walls?

Standard

Neither do I. It drives me crazy. We’ve been in our house nearly a year, and there are walls that just make me draw a blank–pun fully intended. I don’t know about you, but for me it’s so difficult to figure out what kind of artwork to put up that will not only look decent but also not break the bank.

I’ll let you in on a secret (I really divulge too many of my secrets to you guys) that will allow you to get something on those walls at a reasonable price and with a pretty cute look. And it’s easy! Not as easy as buying something from a store, but whatever, with your lazy behind.

Step 1: Buy one or more art canvases. I like to buy them either on sale or with a coupon ’cause I’m frugal like that.

Step 2: Go to a fabric store that offers remnants at discounted prices. My hometown has a fabric store, Sir’s, where I can usually find some really cute fabrics for $1.99 or $2.99 a yard.

Step 3: Take your staple gun and staple the darn fabric over the darn canvas. You’re done!

Discount canvas + discount fabric + a little elbow grease = Perfection! Or at least, if not perfection, less muttering at the wall like a lunatic.

~Kelli

6 responses »

  1. Kelli,
    I like your fabric idea! Here is something similar I did in my house cause I’m poor.

    I just bought a canvas on sale at Hobby Lobby and painted it for this one:

    Same for this one but I used a stencil:

    The picture over my couch mom and I used straws and blew the paint onto card stock and framed it:

    The picture over my dining table is just a large sheet of card stock purchased from Plaza art supply downtown- about 6 dollars. Bought a 8 dollar frame at hobby Lobby- doesn’t even need the glass. The paper is also textured- the navy is a felt/velvet so it doesn’t just look like paper. They have racks and racks of these large scale papers in all kinds of colors and patterns. :

    and I just decided these pictures suck so I will upload some better ones on my Facebook.

    • Wow, you’re full of great, budget-friendly ideas! I love Plaza for their pen section alone, but it’s so fun to look through all their pretty paper, too.

  2. Kelli!
    I LOVE these! Also, your home looks like it’s straight out of a magazine. I cannot believe you guys have been there a year already. It seems like you just finished it up. Your place looks great.

  3. Your house is gorgeous! I gasped as I saw your white furniture. A white couch is my dream couch but it will NEVER, ever, ever happen. That is such a great idea, the canvas and fabric. I just got a “new” office this past week and this would be a great way to spruce up the space.

  4. Thank you for your nice comments! That made me feel really good. Ms. Que, I love the look of white couches, too (obviously), but with a dog and a cat, I knew they’d get dirty. These have slipcovers, so I’m able to wash them if they get too funky. You totally should use the fabric canvas idea for your office!

Leave a Reply

