Tuesday Truth #7 – I am the next American Idol

Standard

I come from a very musical family on both my mom and dad’s side. Music–playing it and listening to it–is something my whole family enjoys together, so it’s no surprise that one of my favorite TV shows is American Idol. Every time I watch it, though, it makes me want to compare my vocal ability to the contestants’. In order to do this, I occasionally pull up karaoke songs via our cable’s On Demand and sing them…in front of my husband. Naturally, he loves this. Several karaoke sessions ago, he taped me singing without my knowledge. I’m now going to share this with you…and the world. Maybe I’ll get discovered! If I don’t die of embarrassment first.

~Kelli

8 responses »

  1. I think I like the part where you’re drumming on the book with the pencil. You aren’t even shy about the singing – you’re singing loud! That was very entertaining – thanks for sharing!

    • Speaking of drumming, I thought of you last night. I was watching that new HBO show, Treme, which is set in New Orleans. It opened with a parade and the funky cajun music they play down there. It just made me want to drum (again with the pen on the sudoku book as in the video) and I remembered that you were a percussionist in school. I bet it was a lot of fun!

      • You should be TOTALLY jealous of my percussion skills – they’re wicked good. I played snare and then quads (the 4 small drums attached to each other) in marching band. They’re very difficult therefore you should be even more impressed with my talent.

  2. We’ve talked about this before…I do the exact same thing. Except I have one of those Dollar Tree echo mics upon which I have inscribed “American Badass”. P.S. You’re really good! Go on, girl!

  3. KELLI! Okay, that was AWESOME! I cannot carry a tune in a basket. I have literally been told to stop singing…by a choir teacher…in 6th grade. It’s bad. B. A. D. I am so impressed and I would totally vote for you!

    • Haha, thanks! You should come to my house. There’s something about the level of echo that makes you sound good when you sing. Maybe I’ll open a recording studio, and you can cut a track there in my living room. Forget what the choir teacher said! I’ll get some auto tune or so’in!

Leave a Reply

