Tuesday Truth #10 – I can’t stop looking

Standard

Have you seen on the news reports of the extensive flooding in Nashville and other parts of Tennessee, Mississippi and Kentucky? If you aren’t from this area, it’s unlikely that you have. The faulty car bomb in NYC and the oil spill have trumped all of the lives and homes lost here in the South…not to minimize those stories, because they are important, too. For more information, any of the local new stations have ample information:

http://www.wsmv.com
http://www.tennessean.com

Aside from lives lost, think of all the people who didn’t have flood insurance. They didn’t live on a flood plain, and their insurance companies didn’t require it and probably didn’t even offer it. How are they going to pay to reconstruct their destroyed homes? It’s just an awful situation.

I can’t seem to get enough of the pictures, videos and stories of flooding. I could sit here all day and look at footage. Is this normal? Today, I’m going to have to make myself stop, because it isn’t making me any more productive and isn’t doing anything to help. We’ve started to learn of volunteer opportunities, in which many people around the city plan to take part including myself.

If you’d like to donate funds to aid in the recovery, go here: http://www.cfmt.org/floodrelief/ or text ‘REDCROSS’ to 90999 to donate $10 to disaster relief.

~Kelli

4 responses »

  1. I was very fortunate to have my basement flood – but it didn’t ruin anything but the carpet. All the living space is upstairs and we found the water really early and were able to get everything out in time before anything ruined. The weird part is that the water wasn’t coming into my home from the outside. We had so much water that it settled under the foundation of my house and started coming up into my basement through holes that they drilled 30 years ago for termite prevention. I ended up getting 3 inches of standing water that has taken us 2 days to clean out. But when you watch the news – wow were we blessed that this is all we had. Of course, we didn’t have flood insurance either but we will and we’ll never go without it again.

  2. I was thinking about you today, acutally. I have been avoiding the destruction and devestation; I can’t watch it. My office building flooded and backed up with sewage but that’s small compared to what Tennessee has seen.

  3. Slamdunk, it’s starting to get more media coverage, so that’ll hopefully lead to more funding and donations to help those families who’ve lost everything. Thanks for your comment.

    Jennifer, I didn’t know you got flooded! I’m glad it was too bad and encouraged you to replace carpet that needed replacing, anyway. 🙂

    Ms. Suzie, did you have any flooding in your house? How long until they get the sewage and everything out of your office building?

Leave a Reply

