Tuesday Truth #12 – Meat Free Mondays

Standard

Sorry for the lack of posts lately. Jennifer and I have both been pretty busy.

This week’s Truth revolves around dinner…and budgets. As you may know, I’m a big time coupon clipper and love saving money. I’d also like to lose about 8 pounds. So enters a new tradition in our household – “Meat Free Mondays.” Gwyneth Paltrow’s GOOP newsletter was where I first learned of an environmental campaign Paul McCartney started to raise awareness of the climate-changing impact of meat production and consumption. As for me, I’m just cheap and want to lose a few L-B’s if you know what I’m sayin’. So we adopted our own “Meat Free Monday” version.

Last night’s meal was Smashed Lentils with Egg and a side salad. It wasn’t a hit with the hubs, but I liked it okay. It was very filling for sure. Next week, we’re having a polenta casserole. You should give it a try and let us know how it works out!

~Kelli

3 responses »

  1. We have salad night, which is every Wednesday. I usually run errands that day, including the grocery shopping, so it’s easier to just come home and have a “Big” salad. However, it is often accompanied by soup or topped with grilled chicken or tuna. So, it’s not always totally meat free, but it’s a start, right?

    It’s all about being frugal for us too!
    ;o)

  2. Kelli – I will never ever EVAH come eat at your house on a Monday night. Sorry – I like my meat. That probably has something to do with my need to lose more than 8 pounds but I’m okay with that 🙂

    Erika – you cracked me up with the “Big Salad” comment!

  3. Not to be a “one-upper” but we never buy meat. We were vegetarian for lots of years and although I now love meat when someone else cooks it, all of our meals are vegetarian. If you ever want some husband- friendly recipes, I will certainly pass them along! (I’m kind of like a husband with my food). Mmmm…I love polenta…but you HAVE to have the right accompaniments. Oh, yeah…I was a picky vegetarian. 🙂

Leave a Reply

