Tuesday Truth #13 – Fantasy world

Standard

Yes, fantasy world. I’m living in one, and it centers around moving back to my small, Southern hometown to open an ice cream shop on our historic square.

Photos by Brent at SeeMidTN.com

As far as I know, there is no other ice cream shop in town. I would make my own ice cream, serving basic flavors as well as some more “out there” varieties. Candied bacon, perhaps? We would also offer a few seasonal flavors like pumpkin for fall or watermelon sorbet for summer. Of course, milkshakes, floats and sundaes would be on the menu. In addition to all the creamy goodness, we would serve non-fancy sandwiches like egg salad, chicken salad, etc. to retain SOME kind of business in the winter months when, I’m sure, people don’t have as much of a hankering for ice cream. Maybe a few salads, too (lettuce salads, not mayonnaise salads).

Oh, and I’d love to find an old soda cooler that holds glass bottles. You know, the kind with the bottle opener on the side?

I can only hope for a store with old wooden floors and exposed brick walls. It could be so cute and inviting! It would be a place families would take their kids, but adults could also come by on their lunch hour. It would be fun to see my old friends and classmates bringing their children in for some goodies. And my parents would be retired, so they could come hang out all day if they wanted. We would be open late enough on Friday nights for people to come by before the football game or a maybe a movie.

So, you see, it would be a lot of work, but it could also be a lot of fun once I got a good rhythm going. It would improve the feel of the square and aid the town’s tourism industry.

Surely I’m not the only one who has some sort of fantasy world going on in my head. What’s yours?

~Kelli

7 responses »

  1. Very sweet and quaint. I might actually even go “to town” when I visit the hometown just to see you. Aid the tourism industry? Ha ha! How big is this place going to be?!

  2. Haha! Well, anything other than another antique store couldn’t hurt tourism, could it? And only a fellow small towner can fully understand what a trek it is to “go to town,” don’t you think? If you came in to visit, I’d be overjoyed!

  3. This is a good fantasy and I would definitely come in to town to visit your shop. My fantasy has always been to own a shop, much like you described, but instead of food I would sell furniture and other things that I fixed up and brought back to life. Trash to treasure sort of thing, but not as cheezy. ;o)

  4. Jennifer, I’ve heard you say that before, and I think you’d be a very good housewife! Actually, I think I’d enjoy that, too.

    Erika, I can SOOO see you doing that. You would have some of the neatest things in there, since you’re so creative.

    So I was going to name the place Lou’s Creamery & Deli. Lou is one of my nicknames (Kellarella is, too, but I don’t think that would look right on a sign). Do you think I could get away with calling my regular customers Lou-sers? Ha!

Leave a Reply

