Grammar Police – Nauseous vs. Nauseated

Standard

There are a few words/phrases that I know I continually use incorrectly, and I know I’m not the only one. So, in an effort to speak using correct grammar, I looked up one such error: using “nauseous” instead of “nauseated.”

If you feel like you’re going to be sick, you feel nauseated.  Something that causes the sick feeling is nauseous.  For example, a ball of worms would be nauseous: “That nauseous ball of worms is making me nauseated.”

You’re welcome. 🙂

~Kelli

3 responses »

  1. Actually, I DID know that but not because I’m just that smart. This redneck cowboy dude I dated in the mid-90s corrected me one time. It’s sad that a guy who says things like, “I seen this here woman…” knows the difference between nauseous and nauseated/-ing. Go figure.

  2. I read a self-published e-book lately where the character was nauseous and I was nauseated by the lack of proper grammar, when I checked a dictionary and found that nauseous can now be used instead of nauseated. Not because it means the smae thing, but because so many people fail to distinguish between them that THEY [whoever they might be] concluded in their wisdom that general stupidity may be a good reason to change the meaning of words.

    I’m still nauseated about this nauseous abuse of etymology.

Leave a Reply

