Tuesday Truth #23 – My favorite movie

Standard

Do you have a favorite movie of all time? One that you can watch–and have watched–enough times that you can recite the whole thing from memory? That movie for me is The Color Purple. I just love everything about it, from the historical aspects to the coming-into-her-own story of Celie to Shug Avery’s repaired relationship with her preacher father (and with spirituality). It makes me laugh and cry and sing along…just a wonderful movie.

There’s one particular part that my husband loves me to recite. It’s when Sophia, played by Oprah, has been beaten by her husband, Harpo, at the behest of Harpo’s stepmother, Celie (the main character, played by Whoopie Goldberg). Sophia is not a woman to be messed with, and she really lets Celie have it for recommending this beating. Here’s a clip, and my part starts at the 1:00 mark:

If you’ve never seen this movie, it is definitely worth a watch. So what’s your favorite movie of all time?

~Kelli

6 responses »

  1. This is hard! I typically don’t watch movies. I loved ‘Frida’ and ‘Pretty In Pink’. Things that make me sad (even if the ending is ‘happy’) typically I won’t watch again. We watch Strangers With Candy and Absolutely Fabulous episodes again and again. We’re vapid and shallow, I guess. 😉

  2. Pingback: Recommendations for beach reads? « Photo.Craft.Book.

  3. Okay, this was seriously one of the weirdest posts for me to read. First, because The Color Purple is my all time favorite movie for all the same reasons you wrote about above. I remember reading the book in middle or maybe high school and then finally seeing the movie only to find it a very good match. The second reason I find this post weird, or maybe it’s creepy- dunno?, is that as I was reading I was thinking about my favorite part of the movie and IT’S THE SAME ONE YOU MENTIONED. WHAT IS GOING ON HERE??????? FREAKY!!

    • That is so WEIRD! You obviously have exquisite taste. I’d love to see your impression of Sophia in that scene one day.

      I finished the book yesterday and thought the movie followed it pretty closely except for a few parts–and I thought those parts made the movie better than the book.

Leave a Reply

