No more 60lb tumor?!?!

Standard

I think I’ve mentioned before my adoration, addiction, love, etc of the Discovery Health Channel. Their programming speaks to my idiosyncratic obscure mindset. I can’t tell you how many programs I have been sucked into watching and have come away with an awe of what people can live with and through. Some of the shows that have amazed me have been:

(apologies as I’m sure these are not the titles)…

Lady with the 60-lb tumor

Man with half a body

Lady with half a body who had a baby

Living with proteus syndrome

Intersexed (formerly hermaphroditism)

My unborn twin

Conjoined twins

Children with Progeria

Children who’s skin sloughs off

Mermaid Girl

Treeman

Paralyzed and pregnant

These are all stories of people who make the most out of life and keep their chin up and keep on living despite their prognosis. Shows like this make me so thankful for the healthy blessed life I’ve been given and makes you not take things for granted.

WELL…

The new Oprah Winfrey network (OWN) has taken over the Discovery Health Channel!!!! Aaarrrrgggg!!!!! What am I going to do without this programming? Nobody else carries stuff like this! Where will I get my obscure health anomaly education? I’m going to give OWN a chance and hope that they’re going to keep this amazing programming but I’m not holding my breath!

Jennifer

One response »

  1. You know how we are always saying, “we don’t seem to have a lot in common at first glance, but we get along great”? Well, here is another reason I so adore you! I cannot get enough of these shows either and The Mister makes me feel terrible for watching them. He thinks they are so depressing. I, on the other hand, feel uplifted after watching them because these people deal with more daily than I have my entire life so far and they do so with a smile on their faces (at least most of the time). I didn’t know about OWN taking over, so I am with you….I hope these shows continue.

Leave a Reply

