Creamy Mac & Beef Recipe

Standard

This one should probably be called “Homemade Hamburger Helper” because that’s basically what it is. However, the taste of this creation is far and away better than anything you can get in a box so I’m sticking with the “Creamy Mac & Beef” name.  I didn’t make this recipe up but got it from Kraft.com but here it is, along with my revisions because you know I can’t just follow a recipe exactly:

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb ground beef
2 (14.5 oz) cans beef broth
1 cup water
8 oz elbow macaroni (2 cups)
1 (12 oz) can evaporated milk
1/4 cup Cheez-Whiz
8 oz Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese

Note, the original recipe called for only one can of beef broth but after about 4 minutes my noodles had absorbed all the liquid and it’s pretty hard to boil noodles if you ain’t got not liquid. I only had chicken stock so I added about one additional cup of that and it worked out fine but next time I’ll just start with 2 cans and make it easier on myself.

STEPS:

Preheat large sauté pan (or electric skillet) on medium-high 2–3 minutes.

Place ground beef in pan & cook 5–7 minutes, stirring to crumble meat until beef is brown and no pink remains.

Stir in broth, water, and macaroni

Bring to a boil

Cook 10–12 minutes, stirring occasionally, or until liquid is mostly absorbed and macaroni is soft and tender.

Stir evaporated milk into pasta and add salt & pepper to taste

Remove from heat (or turn heat off). Add grated cheese

Add Cheeze-Whiz

Stir until creamy

Note – it will look “soupy”. Let it set while you’re setting the dinner table – about 5 to 10 minutes and it will thicken up nicely until it looks like this:

Very easy, pretty simple dinner for a busy week night.  Hubby and I had left-overs for lunch the next day and it was even better than the night I cooked it.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, no – not all my recipes include Cheeze-Whiz. Actually only two things I cook have it in them, I just happened to post both of those recipes.

Jennifer

One response »

  1. Thank you for clearing up the Cheese-Whiz question. I was beginning to wonder. The finished product looks good, but I get sheeved out by products named whiz and evaporated milk. Not that I haven’t used evaporated milk before, but something about it seems wrong.
    I may have to overcome my fears on this one because I will admit to being a total Hamburger Helper junkie. ;o)

Leave a Reply

